Skip to main content

Art: Citing Art APA Style

In-text Citations

How do I refer to an artwork in the text of my paper?

Give the artist's name and italicize the title of the work. Give the year in parenthesis.

Blackwood's Leaving for the Labrador (2011)
Barry's Passing Parade (1994)

APA Style: How to Cite Art in your Reference List

The APA Manual (6th ed.) does not give specific examples of artwork. This guide is based on section 7.10 which covers "nontext materials" and on examples for other types of sources.

Original Drawing / Painting / Sculpture / Photo / Etc.
If artist is unknown, begin with the title. If year is unknown, use (n.d.) for "no date."

Artist. (Year). Title [Description of material]. Institution, Museum, or Collection,
       City, abbreviated Province/State.

Pratt, C. (1965). Young girl with seashells [Oil on board]. Memorial University
       Art Gallery Permanent Collection, Corner Brook, NL.

Image in an Art Database (e.g. ARTstor)
As APA generally advises not to include direct URLs in Article Indexes and databases to avoid nonworking URLs, we recommend providing the name of the database, or the URL of the database's homepage.

Artist. (Year). Title [Description]. Institution, Museum, or Collection, Location.
       Available from Database Name OR Retrieved from URL

Landing of atlantic cable in Newfoundland, 1866 [Transparency, collodion on
       glass]. (1900). George Eastman House, Rochester, NY. ARTstor.

Reproduction in a Book

Artist. (Year of book's publication). Title of Artwork [Description]. Institution,
       Museum, or Collection, Location. In Author/Editor's name, Book Title
       (p. #). City, abbreviated Province/State of publication: Publisher.
       (Original work year).

Jacque, H. (2010). Labrador black duck [Clay tile]. Lawrence O'Brien
       Auditorium, Goose Bay, NL. In D. Brown, Uncommon clay: The
       labradoria mural (p. 18). St. John's, NL: Creative Publishing.
       (Original work 2009).

Reproduction in a Print Journal

Artist. (Year). Title [Description]. Institution, Museum, or Collection, Location.
       In Author. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume #(issue #), page
       #.

Carr, E. (1935). Scorned as timber, beloved of the sky [Oil on canvas].
       Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust, Vancouver, BC. In S. R. Udall.
       Georgia O'Keeffe and Emily Carr: Health, nature and the creative
       process. Women's Art Journal, 27(1), 23.

Reproduction in an Online Journal
Provide the doi number (Digital Object Identifier). Provide URL of journal's homepage only if doi is not available. Do not include Article Index information.

Artist. (Year). Title [Description]. Institution, Museum, or Collection, Location.
       In Author. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume #(issue #),
       page #. Retrieved from: journal homepage URL

Sherman, C. (1980, July/August). Untitled film still #56 [Photograph].
       Collection of M. Harron. In C. Townsend. Art as commodity as art.
       Art Monthly (368), 2. Retrieved from: http://www.artmonthly.co.uk

Reproduction on a Website
If no date is available for the website, use (n.d.) for "no date". If no author is available, just include the title followed by the date.

Artist. (Year). Title [Description]. Institution, Museum, or Collection, Location.
       Webpage/document Author. (Year, Month day). Title of web page/
       document. Retrieved from: http://URL

Shepherd, H. P. (1962). Sunday morning [Oil]. Collection of Memorial
       University of Newfoundland, St. John’s, NL. The rooms. (n.d.).
       Retrieved from: http://www.therooms.ca/artgallery/shepherds.asp

Film

Producer, A. A. (Producer/s), & Director, B. B. (Director). (Year). Title of film 
       [DVD]. Country of origin: Studio.

Producer (Producer), & Director (Director). (Year). Title [Motion picture].
       Country of Origin: Studio.

Petras, A. (Producer) & Simms, J. (Director). (2008). Down to the dirt
       [Motion picture]. Canada: Mongrel Media.

Books