Reserves
Find materials that your professor has put on reserve for your course.
Or search by course instructor.
Indigenous Movements
Articles
Search for articles (and other resources) related to this topic in Bibliography of Native North Americans and America: History and Life by typing in your search terms below.
|
Also Try: |
Books
Find books in the Library collection.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Handbook of North American IndiansThis large set is a bit dated, but it is considered to be the standard reference work for information about all Native peoples situated north of Mesoamerica.
- Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and PeoplesThis is an excellent guide to the field of Aboriginal Studies, providing an introduction to important historical, cultural and modern issues affecting Native peoples.
- North American Indian Biographical DatabaseThis is a useful compilation of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. It include biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs, and provides coverage from 1677 to present.
Cool Digital Collections
- Miawpukek Mi'kmawey Prayer BookThis is a digitized version of an early 19th century Newfoundland Mi'kmaw Roman Catholic prayer book mostly written in a hieroglyphic script which is unique to the Mi'kmaw tradition.
- Labrador Innu Myths and LegendsThis digital collection comprises 29 Innu-aimun stories recorded in Sheshatshiu, Labrador by Madeleine Lefebvre and Robert Lanari in 1967.
- The Labrador Inuit through Moravian EyesThis site provides multimedia and textual information on the 250-year relationship between Moravian missionaries and the Inuit of Labrador.
Aboriginal Law
- LawSourceIncludes Canadian case law, law digests, legislation, case comments, law journals and reviews - Also includes the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest, Words and Phrases, and the Index to Canadian Legal Literature - Users can note-up (i.e. update) cases and legislation using the KeyCiteCanada feature.
- CanLII: Canadian Legal Information InstituteProvides access to primary sources of Canadian Law accessible - Includes legislative and judicial texts and legal commentaries, from federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdictions.
- LexisNexis Aboriginal Law Netletter (TM) Issues (Online)An electronic current awareness service covering recent judicial developments pertaining to Canada's aboriginal peoples (First Nations, Inuit, and Métis). Topics addressed include treaty rights, land and resource claims, self-government of bands and nations, taxation issues, native justice, and criminal sentencing provisions specific to aboriginal offenders.
- Native Law Centre of Canada Legal Pleadings DatabaseSearchable database of the Native Law Centre of Canada's collection of legal briefs, pleadings, and opinions on Native Cases.
Website includes links to other factum sites available for free or fee.
Loading...
