Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Resources (Reserves)
Skeletal Anatomy Resources
Search Individual E-Book Collections
Daily headlines about discoveries in fossils and ruins and more ...
Find books, articles, and more in OneSearch
Search for Articles
Also try these:
Covers journal articles; reports; commentaries; edited works; obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, & linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies - 885,000+ articles from 2,5000 journals indexed.
View all article indexes available for Archaeology.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
Contains about 13,000 terms selected from glossaries and indices of major textbooks and classic works in human biology and evolution. The appendices include tables and taxonomies of extinct, recent and extant primates; a geological time scale, diagrams of anatomical landmarks, and an event timeline of human biology and evolution.
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology
The entries in this useful dictionary describe the development of physical anthropological concepts followed by bibliographies including most of the major works in the field. The history of each concept is traced from its origins to the contemporary usage in physical anthropology.
History of Physical Anthropology
This excellent reference source contains biographies on the major contributors to physical anthropology and essays on a variety of topics in the field. The entries include primary and secondary sources, along with the location of important archival material. The name and subject indexes are an especially useful feature of this two volume set.
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory
Considered to be a standard in the field, this encyclopedia has over 800 A-Z entries covering the latest fossil finds and theories. It provides the most complete context possible for understanding the origins of humankind.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Paleopathology
A key reference source covering most of the conditions that will produce visible lesions on skeletal or mummified remains. There are detailed lesion descriptions and over 300 photographs along with a discussion of the history, etiology and epidemiology of each pathological condition. A must for budding paleopathologists!
Citation and style guides