NL Linguistics: Home
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Overviews
Use these sources to help you get started with your research.
- Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and LabradorVolume 1 of this encyclopedia contains an article on "Dialects".
- Language (Newfoundland and Labrador Heritage Web Site)This concise article serves as a useful introduction to the study of language in Newfoundland and Labrador.
- Dictionary of Newfoundland English (DNE)This valuable reference tool which was first published in 1982 is now available online.
Need More Information?
- CNS Subject FilesThe Centre for Newfoundland Studies keeps paper files on a variety of topics. You can check out the various lists here.
Local Links
- Digital Archives Initiative - MUN library This link opens in a new windowThis searchable site has primary sources including newspaper articles, images, diaries and video images.
Find Articles
OneSearch
Browse a Journal
- Regional Language Studies... NewfoundlandEstablished in 1968, this occasional periodical publishes short articles, research notes, information and bibliographies relating to all aspects of language in Newfoundland and Labrador.
Conversation - NL Tourism Ad
Centre for Newfoundland Studies
- CNS: The place to go!The Centre for Newfoundland Studies should be your first stop for research help about Newfoundland and Labrador topics. (3rd floor of QEII Library)Important Links:
How To...
Try This!
- Dialect Atlas of Newfoundland and LabradorExplore local vocabulary, pronunciations and grammatical features.
Try This!
- Innu-AimunFind out about the language spoken by the Innu of Labrador and Quebec.