ESL and Language Support: Home
Popular Reserved Books in Lending Services (Circulation)
CAEL Practice Books The CAEL Assessment: Test Takers' Preparation Guide. Call Number: PE 1128 F747 2015 v. 1, v. 2, & v. 3
IELTS Practice Books IELTS Exam Essentials Practice Tests. 1 & 2. Call Number: PE 1128 H37 2015 DVD-ROM
The Complete Guide to IELTS. Student's book: Band 5.5-7+. Call Number: PE 1128 R644 2016 DVD-ROM
Essential Words for the IELTS. Call Number: PE 1128 L6437 2014
Academic Writing They Say / I Say: The Moves that Matter in Academic Writing, with Readings. Call Number: PE 1431 G73 2015
The Practical Guide to Writing: With Readings and Handbook. Call Number: PE 1408 P73 2007
Simon & Schuster Handbook for Writers. Call Number: PE 1408 T696 2006
English as a Second Language
The English as a Second Language programs in Spencer Hall at Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN), located on scenic Long Pond. It provides diverse ESL programs for international students.
English as a Second Language programs collect numerous resources for language learning from social media that will boost English comprehensive skills.
The Internationalization Office at MUN is located in the Education Building in Room ED4007, providing assistance to exchange students, visiting students, international students at MUN.
Digital Language Centre at MUN
The Digital Learning Centre (DLC) at MUN, located in the Science Building (SN 4027), offers academic support to second language learners, including ESL students. It facilitates conversation classes to support students with their speaking and comprehension skills as well.
DLC provides campus employment opportunities for bilingual or multilingual students. The DLC director, Karin Thomeier, can be reached at: karint @ mun.ca
MUN Programs and Services
Intensive English Program helps international students enhance their English skills, including listening, speaking, reading, and writing.
Intensive Bridge Program offers an opportunity for international students to develop their academic skills in English-medium universities in Canada.
Custom Language Program allows international students to work with other organizations, such as private business, governmental organizations, and other universities.
Communication and Culture Program provides 4-week language and culture learning sections for international students.
Conversation Partner Program provides one-on-one services for international students with Canadian fluent English speakers that practice speaking and listening skills regularly.
Career Preparation Programs help international students (both undergraduate and graduate students) develop their interactive professional skills, get job searching knowledge, and prepare future career.
Culture-to-Community Program is a great way for international students to become more involved with the community. The program connects international students with provincial students from kindergarten to grade 12 in an effort to increase knowledge, understanding, and respect of cultural differences.
Family Program, which provides assistance to international students arriving at Memorial with their families. Areas of assistance include: family health care, schools for children, family tax benefits, ESL opportunities for spouses, and parenting resources.
Special Novel Books in 3rd floor at QEII Library
Borrow and return a novel book without checking out
Sample Dictionaries in 2nd floor at QEII Library
Essential ESL Dictionary: For Learners of English Call Number: PE 1628 M315 2015
The Concise Oxford Dictionary Call Number: PE 1628 F6 2001
Oxford Advanced Learner's English-Chinese Dictionary Call Number: PL 1455 N58 2004
Vaccari's Standard English-Japanese Dictionary Call Number: PL 679 V33 1967
French-English English-French Dictionary Call Number: PC 2640 D53 2012
A Supplementary Russian English Dictionary Call Number: PG 2640 M34 2007
The New Cassell's German Dictionary Call Number: PF 3640 B4 1971
Useful Databases at MUN
Academic Search Complete is a useful multi-disciplinary database for students in English programs.
MLA International Bibliography is a international humanities database that covers current literatures worldwide.
Literature Online offers full-text diverse-type resources for literary studies, accessing to international criticism.
ProQuest Central is a powerful international database that covers 175 subject areas with thousands journals.
Factiva collects influential local, national, and international newspapers from more than 200 countries in 26 languages.
Subject Databases focus on specific subjects. "Try These First" lists high quality subject databases.
Sources for Career preparation
Resume and Cover Letter Writing Guide provides detailed resume and cover letter instructions with classic samples of various sections and formats.
Action Verbs are professional descriptions of experience duties in resume.
Handout on Resumes and Cover Letters points out additional information and tips for resumes and cover letters.