Finding Geological Publications: Journals
Publication Format
-
Field Trip Guidebooks
-
Theses
-
Maps & GIS
Earth Science Journals
Search for Journal Articles in Databases
The Memorial University Libraries subscribe to hundreds of article indexing databases in all disciplines.
- For a complete list of all databases provided by the library - DATABASES by subject and title
Note: Databases index thousands of journals; MUN Libraries do not subscribe to every title that the database indexes
- click on
beside each article to check if you can access the article
Search for Journals using OneSearch
Earth Science E-Journal Collections
-
AAPG datapagesFull-text of all publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists + publications from related geological societies
-
American Geophysical UnionFull-text of all AGU e-journals 1896 to present. AGU journals span a wide range of subjects in the Earth & space sciences.
-
Geological Society of AmericaUse GEOSCIENCEWORLD for COMPLETE access to GSA JOURNALS
-
GEOREF Open-Access Journals / SeriesFull-text geology journals and series that are openly available on the web
-
GeoScience WorldFull-text collection comprising ~50 peer-reviewed journals from leading earth science societies & research institutes
-
Lyell collectionFull-text of all e-journals, Special Publications and key book series from the Geological Society [London].
-
OnePetro130,000+ full-text conference papers, journal articles, & technical documents from the oil & gas exploration & production industry
-
Publications WarehouseFull-text access to most publications from United States Geological Survey (USGS) - Includes articles, books, book chapters, reports, maps, and other publications from 1850 to present.
-
ScienceDirect - Earth and Planetary SciencesAccess the full-text of more than 175 Earth and Planetary Sciences e-journals from Elsevier.
-
SEG digital libraryFull-text of technical articles from journals & technical symposia, ebooks, etc from the Society of Exploration Geophysicists + its Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Geophysics
-
SEPM Online PublicationsFull-text access to all publications from the SEPM - Society for Sedimentary Geology
-
SpringerLink - Earth Science & GeographyAccess the full-text of more than 200 Earth Science & Geography e-journals from Springer.
-
Taylor & Francis - Earth SciencesAccess the full-text of more than 80 Earth Sciences e-journals from Taylor & Francis.
-
Wiley Online Library - Earth SciencesAccess the full-text of more than 170 Earth Sciences e-journals from Wiley.
Accessing Journal Articles from Off-campus
-
Access Library Resources from Home (Off Campus Access)1. Perform your research like you do on campus.
2. You will be prompted to log in to access subscription resources and library services such as Document Delivery and requesting items.
3. Use your my.mun login!
Creating Links to Online Resources
Creating a Link for On and Off Campus Access
Simply paste ia resource URL (DOI, persistant URL or browser URL) in the top box. A newly created link, complete with proxy, will appear in the second box. Copy and paste the proxy enhanced URL into your browser or your presentation.
Resource URL:
Proxy Enhanced URL:
Definitions and Examples
Digital Object Identifier (DOI): DOI is a standardized method for identifying an electronicjournal articles, etc.
Example: 10.1503/cmaj.100771
Persistant URL: A permanent URL listed in the article citation or abstract which may be labeled "Stable URL", "Document URL", "Persistent Link" or something similar, depending on the database platform.
Example: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=48190077&site=ehost-live&scope=site