Finding Geological Publications: Books
Publication Format
-
Field Trip Guidebooks
-
Theses
-
Maps & GIS
Finding Geological Books in Libraries
Find Geology / Earth science books & reports in the Queen Elizabeth II Library, 4th Floor
| QE1-996.5 | Geology |
| QE1-350.62 | General |
| QE351-399.2 | Mineralogy |
| QE420-499 | Petrology |
| QE500-639.5 |
Dynamic & structural geology |
| QE521-545 | Volcanoes & earthquakes |
| QE601-613.5 | Structural geology |
| QE640-699 | Stratigraphy |
| QE701-760 | Paleontology |
| QE760.8-899.2 | Paleozoology |
| QE901-996.5 | Paleobotany |
Search for Books using OneSearch
Earth Science Books
Search for Books in Selected Databases
GeoRef allows search limits to identify books, reports, etc
Multidisciplinary Databases for Earth Science Books:
-
Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technolgy, and medicine (STM), and social sciences. Includes records for thousands of books, reports, conferences and individual chapters / papers.
-
Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of nine citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes records for thousands of geological reports, conferences and individual chapters / papers.
The Memorial University Libraries subscribe to hundreds of indexing databases in all disciplines.
- For a complete list of all databases provided by the library - DATABASES by subject and title
- click on
beside each citation to check if you can access the "book" or chapter
Note: Links from databases for books/chapters, conferences, geological survey reports, society publications, etc. often fail
- View the FULL reord in the database for more information about a publication
- in GeoRef, URLs for full-text of online reports are often included
Search OneSearch using title / author OR source publication information
Earth Science E-Book Collections
-
AAPG datapagesFull-text of all publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists + publications from related geological societies
-
American Geophysical UnionFull-text of all AGU e-journals 1896 to present. AGU journals span a wide range of subjects in the Earth & space sciences.
-
Geological Society of AmericaGSA reports and field guides from 1995 - present
-
GeoScience WorldFull-text collection comprising ~50 peer-reviewed journals from leading earth science societies & research institutes. GSW recently added information about thousands of geological society special publications.
-
Lyell collectionFull-text of all e-journals, Special Publications and key book series from the Geological Society [London].
-
OnePetro130,000+ full-text conference papers, journal articles, & technical documents from the oil & gas exploration & production industry
-
Publications WarehouseFull-text access to most publications from United States Geological Survey (USGS) - Includes articles, books, book chapters, reports, maps, and other publications from 1850 to present.
-
SEG digital libraryFull-text of technical articles from journals & technical symposia, ebooks, etc from the Society of Exploration Geophysicists + its Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Geophysics
-
SEPM Online PublicationsFull-text access to all publications from the SEPM - Society for Sedimentary Geology
-
SpringerLink - Earth Science & GeographyAccess the full-text of more than 6800 Earth Science & Geography e-books from Springer.
Accessing eBooks from Off-campus
-
Access Library Resources from Home (Off Campus Access)1. Perform your research like you do on campus.
2. You will be prompted to log in to access subscription resources and library services such as Document Delivery and requesting items.
3. Use your my.mun login!
Creating Links to Online Resources
Creating a Link for On and Off Campus Access
Simply paste ia resource URL (DOI, persistant URL or browser URL) in the top box. A newly created link, complete with proxy, will appear in the second box. Copy and paste the proxy enhanced URL into your browser or your presentation.
Resource URL:
Proxy Enhanced URL:
Definitions and Examples
Digital Object Identifier (DOI): DOI is a standardized method for identifying an electronicjournal articles, etc.
Example: 10.1503/cmaj.100771
Persistant URL: A permanent URL listed in the article citation or abstract which may be labeled "Stable URL", "Document URL", "Persistent Link" or something similar, depending on the database platform.
Example: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=48190077&site=ehost-live&scope=site