Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GNDR 3100: Gendered Politics of Health (Side) - Fall 2022: Home

How to identify academic sources

Ask us

Library Research Databases: The Basics

OneSearch

OneSearch is the library's main discovery system. Use OneSearch to find books, articles, and many other types of resources. Search OneSearch from the library homepage.

Research Databases

The library subscribes to hundreds of research databases about different disciplines and subjects.

  • Use research databases in addition to OneSearch to find focused academic resources on your topic.
  • The databases usually include journal articles, but some include many other types of academic sources.
  • You can use more specific keywords in research databases than you often can in OneSearch, so you can often discover sources more directly in a database than you can in OneSearch.
  • Many databases also include material not listed in OneSearch.

Here are direct links to the databases we'll use in class:

Group 1

Group 2

Group 3

You can find all our databases on the Databases page. Depending on the topic you're researching for GNDR 3100, you might also consider using other databases listed under Aboriginal Studies, Gender Studies, Health Sciences, News, Political Science, or Sociology.

Picking your topic IS research

Citation: A very brief introduction