Introduction to Global Politics (POSC 2200): Scavenger hunt-how to search the databases
Scavenger hunt - where to find these journals
Articles found for the scavenger hunt are only to be from 30 peer-reviewed Political Science journals, which are all listed in your assignment as well as listed below. Twenty-two journals are indexed in the EBSCO database Academic Search Complete, five are indexed in a Proquest database called Political Science Database, and three titles will need to be searched individually.
Journals Indexed in Academic Search Complete (EBSCO):
Climate Policy; European Journal of International Relations; Environmental Politics; Global Environmental Politics; Globalizations; International Affairs; International Feminist Journal of Politics; International Relations; International Security; International Studies Perspectives; International Studies Quarterly; Journal of Human Rights; Journal of International Relations and Development; Journal of Peace Research; Journal of Conflict Resolution; Millennium; New Political Economy; Review of International Political Economy; Review of International Studies; Security Dialogue; Security Studies; South Atlantic Quarterly
Journals Indexed in Political Science Database (Proquest):
Global Governance; Global Policy; International Politics; International Political Sociology; International Organization
Search for these journals in OneSearch:
Global Studies Quarterly; International History Review; Journal of International Political Theory
- Individual Journal SearchYou can also use the above link to search individually for any of the journal titles above (or any journal in the Library) using the Journal search at the Library.
Adding References to Zotero
- Adding references to ZoteroThis guide and video (from Queen's University) shows you easy ways to add references to Zotero. For this to work, make sure that you download the Zotero connector, and you will see the Zotero extension icon at the top right corner of your browser window.
- Adding Items to ZoteroFrom the Zotero website. Quick instructions on how to save webpages, PDFs and more to Zotero.
Scavenger hunt - how to search the databases for these journals
For the scavenger hunt, you'll need to find two databases, Academic Search Complete (ASP), and Political Science Database (PSD).
You'll find them by clicking on the above link, and then searching for the names Academic Search Complete under the "A" and Political Science Database under the "P".
Below are several short videos that will help you search these two databases. For a more general overview on how to search Library databases, please go to the "Home" tab above and work through the LRE Library's online tutorial.
- Academic Search Complete #1 (2:52)This video shows you how to start a search in ASP, how to limit your search to a year range, and how to limit your search to specific journals (see the lists of journals in the box on the left side).
- Academic Search Complete #2 (2:05)This video shows you the ways to access the full-text of a journal article in ASP.
- Academic Search Complete #3 (2:22)This video shows you how to save documents to Zotero, and how to create a personalized folder in ASP (see the "Home" tab above for more on downloading and using Zotero).
- Political Science Database #1 (2:47)This video show you how to start a search in PSD, how to set up your own research folder, and how to limit you research to a date range and to specific journals (see list of journals on the box on the left side)
- Political Science Database #2 (1:09)This video shows you how to access the full-text of an article as a pdf through the PSD database, or by using the Library's document delivery service
- Political Science Database #3 (0:57)This video shows you how to save documents from PSD to Zotero (see the "Home" tab above for more on downloading and using Zotero).
Finding OneSearch - for individual journals
In order to search for the journals not in ASP or PSD (see the box to the left), you can use OneSearch, the Library's online catalogue. The above link will take you there.
You can search for any journal title using the main search box, or the journal search tab at the top of the page. Once you have found the journal, click on the title link, and then on the online availability link, you can then keyword search for your topic.
To download from OneSearch to Zotero, make sure you are signed in to Onesearch (top right corner). Open the record you want, and look for Export RIS. Click Download.