MLA citation style

A guide to citing sources using MLA Style, 9th edition

Course materials

Class lectures

Citation format:

Instructor's Lastname, Firstname. Lecture. Description of Lecture. Day Mon. year, University Name.

Sample Works Cited entry:

Lewis, Robert. Lecture. Mummering tradition in Newfoundland. 5 Feb. 2011, Memorial U of Newfoundland.

Class materials posted on a course website (e.g. Brightspace)

If there is a date on the file, use that date. If there is no date, use the date you accessed it at the end of the entry.

Citation format:

“Title of PDF/PP/Video.” Course Name, taught by Instructor's Name. Course Site Name, University Name, Day Mon. year, URL.

Sample Works Cited entry:

“Characteristics of Successful Entrepreneurs.” BUSN 1020: Introduction to Entrepreneurship, taught by Jose Lam. Brightspace, Grenfell Campus, Memorial U of Newfoundland. online.mun.ca/d2l/le/content/195539/viewContent/3769534/View?ou=194537. Accessed 14 Oct. 2018.

Datasets

MLA treats datasets as supplementary material.

Citation Format:

Author/Data Creator. "Title of Dataset." Name of Repository Where Dataset was Found. PID/URL/DOI.

Sample Works Cited entry:

Fradsham, Sarah. “Transcriptions for the Productions of Russian Two-Consonantal Coda Clusters by Adult Bilinguals.” Borealis, 2022, St. John’s, NL. https://doi.org/10.5683/SP3/LF5TJM.

Dictionary or encyclopedia entries

If no author is available, begin with the title of the entry instead.

Print entry

Citation format:

Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Entry." Dictionary/Encyclopedia Name, edited by Editor's Name/s, edition #, vol. #, Publisher/s, year, pp. #s.

Sample Works Cited entry:

"Noon." The Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed., vol. 10, Clarendon Press, 1989, p. 509.

Online/electronic entry

Citation format:

Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Entry." Dictionary/Encyclopedia Name, edited by Editor's Name/s, edition #, vol. #, Publisher/s, year, pp. #s. Title of Database or Website, DOI or URL.

Sample Works Cited entries:

Norlock, Kathryn. "Feminist Ethics." Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Edward N. Zalta, 2019. Stanford University, plato.stanford.edu/entries/feminism-ethics/.

Jamieson, Donald C. "I Saw the Fight for Confederation." The Book of Newfoundland, edited by Joseph R. Smallwood and James R. Thoms, vol. 3, Newfoundland Book Publishers, 1967, pp. 70-104. Memorial U of Newfoundland Digital Archives Initiative, collections.mun.ca/digital/collection/cns_tools/id/43833/rec/33.

Dissertations or theses

Citation format:

Author Lastname, Firstname. Title of Dissertation/Thesis. Year. University Name, master’s thesis or PhD dissertation. Database Name, DOI or URL.

Sample Works Cited entries:

Breslin, Samantha. Living with Music: An Ethnography of Sessions in St. John's, Newfoundland. 2011. Memorial U of Newfoundland, master’s thesis. ProQuest, search.proquest.com/docview/902181185?accountid=12378.

Sidey, Megan. Aquaculture Regulation in Canada: A Case for Modernization, Standardization and Collaboration. 2018. Memorial U of Newfoundland, master’s thesis. Memorial U of Newfoudland Research Repository, research.library.mun.ca/13713/

Email or text message

Citation format:

Sender Lastname, Firstname. Email to Receiver’s Name. Day Mon. year.

Sample Works Cited entries:

Grenfell Campus Student Union. E-mail to all students. 4 Nov. 2019.

Strickland, Heather. Text message to the author. 12 July, 2016.

Interviews

Citation format:

Name of person interviewed. Interview. Conducted by Name of Interviewer, day Mon. Year.

Sample Works Cited entry:

French, George. Interview. Conducted by John Bodner, 12 Nov. 2014.

Reviews

Untitled reviews

Citation format:

Reviewer Lastname, Firstname. Review of Title, by Author/Editor/Director/Artist. Title of Journal/Magazine/Newspaper, vol. #, no. #, day Mon. year, pp. #s.

Sample Works Cited entry:

Warner, Patrick. Review of An Island in the Sky: Selected Poetry of Al Pittman, edited by Martin Ware and Stephanie McKenzie. Books in Canada, vol. 33, no. 7, Oct. 2004, p. 36.

Titled reviews

Citation format:

Reviewer Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Review." Title of Journal/Magazine/ Newspaper, vol. #, no. #, day Mon. year, pp. #s.

Sample Works Cited entry:

Green, Jesse. “Theater Review: Come from Away Makes a Musical out of Canadian Niceness.” New York, 20 Mar. 2017.

Review published online

For online reviews, see examples under articles or websites and include additional relevant information.

Sample Works Cited entry:

Cunningham, Vinson. The Dance of Death in "The Comeuppance." The New Yorker, 12 June. 2023. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2023/06/19/the-comeuppance-theatre-review

Statistics

Online reports from Statistics Canada

Citation format:

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Document: Subtitle if Any." Statistics Canada, Date of publication, URL.

Sample Works Cited entry:

Drolet, Marie. "Gender Differences in the Financial Knowledge of Canadians." Statistics Canada, 23 Mar. 2016, www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75-006-x/2016001/article/14464-eng.htm

Statistics Canada provides additional guidance about citing statistics on their website.