Skip to Main Content
Memorial University

Memorial University Libraries

MLA citation style

A guide to citing sources using MLA Style, 9th edition

General rules

When citing archival material, the following elements should be included:

  • Item Number: The number assigned to an item or file within a collection or fonds. (e.g., 9.01.001)
  • Title: The title of the item, file, and series when applicable. (E.g., 9.01.001 Governor’s Report on the Seal Fishery, 1913. 9.01 Research Materials, 9.0 Death on the Ice.)
  • Collection Number: The identifier assigned to a collection or fonds by the archives. Can appear with the prefix of COLL, MF, or OMF. (e.g., COLL-115)
  • Name of fonds or collections: The name or title assigned to a collection of fonds. (E.g., Cassie Brown Collection)
  • Repository: The name of the archive and/or institution and its geographical location. (E.g., Archives & Special Collections, Queen Elizabeth II Library, Memorial University Libraries, St. John’s, NL.)

Works cited format:

Author (last name, first name). Title/description of material. Date (day month year). Call number, identifier or box/folder/item number. Collection name. Name of repository, location.

Letters

Sample Works cited entry:

Smallwood, J. R. Letter to William Coaker. 5 November 1921. 1.11.002, COLL-281, J. R. Smallwood Collection. Archives & Special Collections, Queen Elizabeth II Library, Memorial University Libraries, St. John’s, NL.

Photographs

Sample Works cited entry:

S. H. Parsons. Mouth of the Humber [Photo]. c.1889. 1.01.063, COLL-503, S. H. Parsons Views of Newfoundland Photograph Album. Archives & Special Collections, Queen Elizabeth II Library, Memorial University Libraries, St. John’s, NL.

Ephemera

The Society of American Archivists (SAA) defines ephemera as “materials, usually printed documents, created for a specific, limited purpose, and generally designed to be discarded after use.” Some examples of ephemera can include: postcards, posters, pamphlets, and broadsides.

Sample Works cited entry:

Barbara Barrett Basement Theatre. “Christmas Capers” [poster]. 1987. 3.01.004, COLL-173 Barbara Barrett Basement Theatre Collection. Archives & Special Collections, Queen Elizabeth II Library, Memorial University Libraries, St. John’s, NL.