Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Resources (Reserves)
Read about the latest archaelogical finds ...
Search Individual E-Book Collections
Find books, articles, and more in OneSearch
Search for Articles
Also try these:
Covers journal articles; reports; commentaries; edited works; obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, & linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies - 885,000+ articles from 2,5000 journals indexed.
View all article indexes available for Archaeology.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology
Contains over 4000 entries covering the essential vocabulary for archaeological work. The dictionary focuses primarily on Europe, the Old World and the Americas.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology
Written by some of the world's best-known archaeologists, this two volume set presents a collection of informative and often witty essays on the lives and work of their famous forebears, colleagues, and teachers.
Encyclopedia of Prehistory
This nine volume set was written by noted experts in the field and provides a thorough overview of human history from our earliest origins about two million years ago to the historic period.
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology
Contains more than 370 entries covering archaeological concepts and important sites in the post-1400 period. Entries range from 150 words for simple definitions and site identifications, to 2000 word entries for the most complex theoretical concepts.
Archaeological Method and Theory
Provides a thorough survey of archaeological methods and theory from excavation and conservation procedures, to the legal issues affecting ultimate disposition of materials.
Citation and style guides
Smithsonian Institution Publications