Law and Society: Case Law & Legislation
Case Law & Commentary
- CanLII: Canadian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new windowProvides access to primary sources of Canadian Law accessible - Includes legislative and judicial texts and legal commentaries, from federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdictions.
- Nexis Uni (Lexis Nexis)Coverage includes US, Canada, EU, Commonwealth and other foreign nations.
- LabourSource This link opens in a new windowIndex and full text - Covers labour law legislation from all Canadian jurisdictions, court decisions, and commentary - Includes "Canadian labour arbitration," "Labour arbitration cases," and "Canadian labour arbitration summaries."
Click the "accept" button on the licence agreement page. - CriminalSource This link opens in a new windowFull-text - Current Canadian criminal legislation, criminal law textbooks, annotations, reported and unreported cases, and topical indexes.
Partial Contents: Canadian criminal cases -- McWilliams Canadian criminal evidence -- Canadian criminal procedure / Roger E. Salhany -- Criminal law quarterly -- Criminal pleadings and practice in Canada / Eugene G. Ewaschuk -- Youth Criminal Justice Act manual / Peter J. Harris -- Sentencing : the practitioner's guide / Gary R. Clewley -- Drug offences in Canada / Bruce A. MacFarlane -- Martin's annual criminal code -- Martin's related criminal statutes.
Click the "accept" button on the licence agreement page.
- Canadian Human Rights Tribunal DecisionsAvailable through Nexis Uni.
- Judgements of the Supreme Court of CanadaCases from the Supreme Court of Canada (SCC).
- Canadian Human Rights ReporterCeased publication at the end of 2020.
Available through CanLii until that date..
- WorldLii This link opens in a new window
LawSource
- LawSourceFrom Westlaw Canada. Includes Canadian case law, law digests, legislation, case comments, law journals and reviews
WestLaw Canada's Online Customer Learning Centre provides a series of video tutorials on how to use the various features of WestLaw databases. How to Get started with Westlaw is a good place to begin (most relevant from 1:27 onward).
Finding Cases in Nexis Uni
- Nexi Uni Legal CasesDatabase formerly called LexisNexis Academic. Legal coverage includes US, Canada, EU, Commonwealth and other nations. This page searches Canadian cases.
- How to find US cases using Nexis UniA series of short videos about finding US legal cases in Lexis Uni
Legislation
- Legis InfoCanadian research tool for finding legislation before Parliament (beginning January 2001) - Includes text & status of bills, debates in Parliament, Committee meetings and reports, legislative summaries, and further readings.
- Newfoundland & LabradorA collection of useful links from the Newfoundland & Labrador House of Assembly website.
- Other Provincial JurisdictionsLinks to legislative information for each of the Canadian provinces.
Ask us
Aboriginal Law
- Delgamuukw Trial Transcripts"Proceedings at trial transcripts of the historic Supreme Court of British Columbia case between Delgamuukw, also known as Albert Tait, suing on his own behalf and on behalf of all the members of the House of Delgamuukw, and others, plaintiffs, and Her Majesty the Queen in right of the Province of British Columbia and the Attorney General of Canada, defendants. Considered a crucial turning point in treaty negotiations, the court's decision in this case upheld aboriginal title in British Columbia."