British History: Home
Course Reserves
Log into Course Reserves, then select Find Lists to locate & add your course.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Oxford Companion to British HistoryISBN: 0198661762
Routledge Dictionary of Modern British HistoryISBN: 9780415192439
Dictionary of British Military HistoryISBN: 9780713675078
Articles & More: Historical Abstracts
OneSearch
British History on the Web
British Newspapers at MUN
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection This link opens in a new window
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- 19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- Eighteenth Century Journals: A portal to newspapers and periodicals,1685-1815 This link opens in a new window
- Times Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Interested in Digital Analysis of Primary Sources?
Gale's Digital Scholars Lab allows you to conduct analysis on the primary resources from Gale in our collection. For British history, collections include British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collection Online, Nineteenth Century Collection Online, Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspaper Collection, The Listener Historical Archive, The Times Digital Archive, and the Times Literary Supplement 1902 - 2014. You can build content sets, clean the data, and use a variety of tools to conduct an analysis, including document clustering, ngrams, sentiment analysis, topic modeling, parts of speech and named entity recognition.
Ask us
Citation management
Use a citation manager to store your citations and format your bibliographies.
Helpful Library Resources
- Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new windowA great resource for the British Home Front during the Second World War!
- Cecil PapersIndex, full-text -- archive of the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley (1520-1598) and his son Robert, the 1st Earl of Salisbury (1563-1612) -- two men who dominated the administration of government during the reign of Elizabeth I and the first eight years under her successor, James. The collection contains documents acquired by Robert Cecil that had belonged to his rival, Robert Devereux, the 2nd Earl of Essex.
- Colonial State Papers This link opens in a new windowContains collection CO 1 from The National Archives (full name: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers) and Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.