Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Political Science at MUN
Politlcal Science e-tips
Learn how to become a better Political Science student
Political Science Style Guide
Students in Political Science will be required to follow the Style Guide used by the Canadian Journal of Political Science
Mapping Politics is an annual peer-reviewed journal produced by students in the Political Science department at Memorial University.
Find articles and more about Political Science
Search two major Political Science databases at once: PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
To search more Political Science library databases, go here
Find books, articles, and more in OneSearch
US Government Documents Online
Contains all published versions of legislative bills from the 103rd (1993-1994) Congress to present.
Access the official record of the proceedings of each legislative day in the House. Coverage is 1991-1999.
Access the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Coverage is from volume 140 (1994) to present.
Access public laws enacted from the 93rd Congress (1973-1974) to the present.
Statutes at Large
Laws and resolutions passed by Congress. Coverage is 1789-1875.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Official publications of United States Presidents including public writings, addresses, and remarks. Coverage includes George H. W. Bush, Bill Clinton and George W. Bush.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1929-2001)
Includes papers and speeches of Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton. As subsequent volumes are published, they will be added online.
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation and the development of the federal government and its role in the national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government.
Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774-1789
Contains 277 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. A number of these items contain manuscript annotations not recorded elsewhere that offer insight into the delicate process of creating consensus.
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) is published by the US State Department. The series was first published in 1861, and is now more than 350 volumes.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of american political parties and elections
Covers the people, events, and terms involved in the electoral process. Also includes the history of elections, with a primary focus on presidential elections.
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government
Comprehensive guide on the U.S. Presidency, Congress, and Supreme Court. Discusses key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for more than 200 years.
The American political dictionary
Since 1962, this text has served as a guide both to the rich technical language of political science and to the actual operation of the American political system.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
Offering definitions of technical terms, this source includes entries on new and thriving branches of the subject such as international political economy, voting theory, and feminism.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Includes Country Reports and Views Wire, from the Economist.