Canada: Home
Political News Resources
Canadian political news coverage.
- Hill Times and EmbassyWeekly Ottawa-based newspaper. An important source for Canadian Federal political news, public policy briefings, surveys, feature columns, political analysis and more.
- Politics - CBCFor the latest political news from the CBC
- Politics - CTV NewsFor the latest political news from CTV
- Politics - Global NewsFor the latest political news from Global News.
- 2021 Election Platform Guide - MacLeansMacLean's guide to election promises made by the main political parties.
- The House - CBCCBC Federal political affairs program
- CCPA Behind the NumbersFrom the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives (CCPA). Behind the Numbers delivers timely, progressive commentary on issues that affect Canadians.
- The Governor General of CanadaProcedures for the Dissolution of Parliament and the Calling of an Election
- Canadian election - BBCCoverage of the 2021 Canadian election from outside Canada
News and Polls
- Ipsos News & PollsFor polls on Canadian politics and society
- 338 Canada"The 338Canada project is a statistical model of electoral projections based on opinion polls, electoral history of Canadian provinces and demographic data." Created by Philippe J. Fournier, astronomy and physics professor at Cégep de Saint-Laurent in Montréal.
- Opinion PollsMemorial Library's guide to Polling surveys from Ipsos, Gallup and more
- Poll TrackerThe latest polls on the 2021 Canadian Federal election. From the CBC.
- ThreeHunderedEight (2008-2017)An archive of Canadian political data from multiple polls
Political Parties
Links to Canadian political party websites
Canadian Federal Elections
- Elections CanadaFor questions about the Federal election
Voter information, find a riding, and more
- FAQ for ElectionsFor information about registration, voting, voter ID and more
- Find your Electoral DistrictFor locating any riding in the country
- Find a Riding - CBCSearch the interactive map for any riding. Also included a map of the 2011 election results
Canadian Election results (1867-present)
- Elections 1867-presentFrom Parlinfo. A resource of information and data on the important events and people that shaped Parliament from 1867 to the present.
- History of Federal Ridings since 1867For the history of every riding in Canada
- Canadian Elections - Andrew Heard (SFU)Election statistics from 1867- the present. Created by Andrew Heard, Associate Professor, Political Science Department, Simon Fraser University
Find articles using Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Article search: CBCA Complete
OneSearch
Newspaper Databases
If you are searching for a database of newspapers from Canada and around the world, try Factiva. If you are looking for newspapers from Atlantic Canada including Newfoundland and Labrador, use Eureka.
- Newspaper DatabasesFor a complete list of subscription databases at Memorial
Federal Government Documents Online
- Links to Canadian Government InformationMemorial Library's page linking you to Canadian Federal Government Information, Parliamentary Publications Online, Legislation and Legal Sources, and more.
To search Federal publications, use OneSearch (above), but also use the Canadian Research Index, and the Government of Canada Publications, linked on this page under "Catalogues and indexes" - Canadian Parliamentary PublicationsLinks to Memorial Library's guide to Parliamentary Committee Reports, Debates, Bills, Acts and Statutes, and more
Provincial and Territorial Government Websites
- Provincial and Territorial GovernmentsLinks to all Provincial and Territorial government websites -- see "Information on Provinces and Territories" tab
NL Political News
- City of St. John'sNews releases from the City of St. John's
- Government of NL NewsNews releases from the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador
- Provincial OutlookRBC Reports on the economic outlook across Canada
- More on NL Politics (CNS)More on Provincial and local politics from the Centre for Newfoundland Studies
- Voter Information, St. John'sVoter guide for St. John's municiple election, and voter lists from Elections NL.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Canadian Encyclopedia-Politics and LawA guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, people and places that have shaped Canadian life from earliest times to the late twentieth century.
- Oxford Handbook of Canadian PoliticsPrint editon JL 15 O94 2010
- SAGE KnowledgePolitics -online encyclopedias
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window570 reference titles - Covers a broad range of subjects from 79 of the world's best reference publishers.
- Reference UniverseContains over 35 million data elements to over 45,000 specialized reference works.
Overview of Canada--Europa World Plus
- Canada, as seen by Europa World PlusEuropa World Plus is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
Data and Statistics
- Canadian StatisticsCanadian Census, National Household surveys, Socio-economic data and more.
- Opinion PollsMemorial Library's guide to polling surveys from Ipsos, Gallup and more
Conference Board Research
- Conference Board of Canada e-Library This link opens in a new windowAccess to research reports, case studies, detailed findings, periodicals, conference presentations, and other publications researched and published by the Conference Board of Canada.
Policy Making In Canada
- Canadian Government Policy CycleA detailed summary of the Federal Government policy cycle. From MacOdrum Library, Carleton.
- Compendium of ProcedureThe Compendium is a collection of articles on specialized procedural topics in the House of Commons. It is designed to help those who need to better understand the workings of the House of Commons and its committees.
How Bills Become Law
- How a Bill becomes a LawA step-by-step guide outlining the Federal legislative process. From McGill University Library.
- Guide to Making Federal Acts and RegulationsThe Guide describes the steps to be followed to transform policy into Federal Acts and regulations, which are forms of written law generally referred to as "legislation." It also outlines the roles of the participants in this process.
Ask us
Political Science at MUN
- Mapping PoliticsMapping Politics is an annual peer-reviewed journal produced by students in the Political Science department at Memorial University.
Citation management
Use a citation manager to store your citations and format your bibliographies.