Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Political News Resources
For Canadian political news coverage. Also try the newspaper databases linked on this page, in the middle column.
Hill Times and Embassy
Weekly Ottawa-based newspaper. Covers federal government and federal politics. An important source for political news, public policy briefings, feature stories, surveys, opinion columns and political analysis. Embassy covers foreign relations and international affairs.
Politics - CBC
Read the latest political news from the CBC
The House - CBC
CBC Federal political affairs program
Politics - CTV News
For the latest political news from CTV
Politics - Global News
For the latest political news from Global News.
CCPA Behind the Numbers
From the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives (CCPA). Behind the Numbers delivers timely, progressive commentary on issues that affect Canadians, including the economy, poverty, inequality, climate change, budgets, taxes, public services, employment and much more.
Links to Canadian political party websites
Overview of Canada--Europa World Plus
Canada, as seen by Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Includes Country Reports and Views Wire, from the Economist.
Find articles using Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Search two major Political Science databases at once: PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
To search more Political Science library databases, go here
Article search: CBCA Complete
Find books, articles, and more in OneSearch
If you are searching for a database of international newspapers, try Factiva. If you are looking for newspapers from Atlantic Canada including Newfoundland and Labrador, use Eureka.
Federal Government Documents Online
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
A guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, people and places that have shaped Canadian life from earliest times to the late twentieth century.
Find background information on your topic.
Some of the sources listed below are online, and others in print. Browse JL in the Reference area on the 2nd floor of the library to find more reference books about Canadian Politics.
570 reference titles - Covers a broad range of subjects from 79 of the world's best reference publishers.
International Studies Encyclopedia
This Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive source of its kind in the area of International Studies and International Relations. It is available in a paper version and an online version (see next link).
Contains over 35 million data elements to over 45,000 specialized reference works.
Canadian Federal Elections
Voter information, find a riding, and more
Canadian Election results (1867-present)
Conference Board Research
Conference Board of Canada e-Library
Access to research reports, case studies, detailed findings, periodicals, conference presentations, and other publications researched and published by the Conference Board of Canada.
Policy Making In Canada
Canadian Government Policy Cycle
A detailed summary of the Federal Government policy cycle. From MacOdrum Library, Carleton.
Compendium of Procedure
The Compendium is a collection of articles on specialized procedural topics in the House of Commons. It is designed to help those who need to better understand the workings of the House of Commons and its committees.
The Policy Cycle-Government of NL
A graphic that depicts the general order of stages in which policy development and implementation occurs.
How Bills Become Law
How a Bill becomes a Law
A step-by-step guide outlining the Federal legislative process. From McGill University Library.
Guide to Making Federal Acts and Regulations
The Guide describes the steps to be followed to transform policy into Federal Acts and regulations, which are forms of written law generally referred to as "legislation." It also outlines the roles of the participants in this process.
Political Science at MUN
Mapping Politics is an annual peer-reviewed journal produced by students in the Political Science department at Memorial University.