Anthropology: Home
Try These!
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowThis is a cross-cultural database containing full-text ethnographies on ethnic, cultural, religious and national groups from around the world. Need help getting started? Try: eHRAF Tutorialsl
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowIntended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
Find Articles
OneSearch
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Cultural AnthropologyThis four volume set provides a good introduction to the major issues and methods used in the cross-cultural study of human behaviour, culture, and society.
- Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural AnthropologyOver 200 entries covering the major theoretical schools and terminology. Senior undergraduates who have already completed introductory Anth courses will get more from this resource than those who are new to the discipline.
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and GatherersA wealth of information about the hunter gatherer way of life! The section on North America even includes discussions about the peoples of Newfoundland and Labrador. Particularly useful for Anth/Arch 3590.
- Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural AnthropologyThis dictionary contains 80 entries covering the most important concepts that have shaped the discipline of cultural anthropology.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowThis database allows you to search the complete indexes of more than 10,000 reference books so you can quickly find the right article to begin your research.
Biographical Sources
- International Dictionary of AnthropologistsBiographical essays on over 500 major contributors to anthropology born before 1920. Entries from academics, travelers, colonial administrators, missionaries, museum curators, and others who have left their mark on the field.
- Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural AnthropologyThis reference source contains about 600 biographical entries on the people who helped shape the discipline from its beginnings in the late 19th century to the present day.
Atlases
- Atlas of World CulturesThis resource includes a set of 40 maps to help locate over 3500 groups, tribes or peoples. It is the ultimate resource for locating the cultures described in the ethnographic literature. Well worth the trip to the Map Library!
- Atlas of ManA bit dated, but still quite useful for locating the world's cultural groups on the map.
Smithsonian Institution Publications
- Smithsonian Institution, Bureau of Ethnology : BulletinFull text access: 1887 (no.1) - 1894 (no.15-24)
- Bulletin, Smithsonian Institution, Bureau of American EthnologyFull text access: 1901 (no.25) - 1971 (no. 200).
- Smithsonian Contributions to AnthropologyFull text access: Vol.1 (1965) - present
Ask us
Manage your citations
Anthropology Associations
Anthropology News
The latest news from the American Anthropological Association.
Loading ...