Indigenous Studies: Home
Primary Sources for Historical Research
- Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources database)Historical sources on the political, social, and cultural history of Indigenous peoples from the 16th century to 1986. North American in scope but includes many Canadian sources and topics. Formats include manuscripts, books, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
- Indigenous Heritage (Library and Archives Canada)Databases, digitized documents and thematic guides useful for many topics related to Indigenous peoples in Canada.
Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls
- Indigenous CanadaIndigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies at the University of Alberta. It explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada.
Search for articles (and other resources) related to this topic in Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America and America: History and Life by typing in your search terms below.
- View all databases for Aboriginal StudiesVisit the full list to find databases on varied subjects including Indigenous health, Arctic studies, and Indigenous ethnobotany.
Find books, articles, and more in OneSearch.
Local Digital Collections
- Towards an Encyclopedia of Local Knowledge - Chapter 3: Miawpukek – The Middle RiverAccording to its website, "Towards an Encyclopedia of Local Knowledge is an ongoing collaborative art-and-knowledge project that recruits art, community collaboration, and place-based research as a way of making and moving knowledge that is often never documented in ways that can be shared." Chapter 3 focuses on Miawpukek First Nation, and is written in Mi’kmaq and English.
- Labrador Innu Myths and LegendsThis digital collection comprises 29 Innu-aimun stories recorded in Sheshatshiu, Labrador by Madeleine Lefebvre and Robert Lanari in 1967.
- Miawpukek Mi'kmawey Prayer BookThis is a digitized version of an early 19th century Newfoundland Mi'kmaw Roman Catholic prayer book mostly written in a hieroglyphic script which is unique to the Mi'kmaw tradition.
- Tipatshimuna: Innu Stories from the LandThis award-winning legacy website (2005) features museum objects and information on people and places.
- Indigenous Law Centre of CanadaThe Indigenous Law Centre at the University of Saskatchewan aims to facilitate access to legal education for Indigenous peoples, promote the development of the law and the legal system in Canada in ways which better accommodate the advancement of Indigenous peoples and communities, and disseminate information concerning Indigenous peoples and the law. Site includes reports, legislative materials, and and the Legal Pleadings Database of legal briefs, pleadings, and opinions on Indigenous cases.
- Delgamuukw Trial Transcripts"Proceedings at trial transcripts of the historic Supreme Court of British Columbia case between Delgamuukw, also known as Albert Tait, suing on his own behalf and on behalf of all the members of the House of Delgamuukw, and others, plaintiffs, and Her Majesty the Queen in right of the Province of British Columbia and the Attorney General of Canada, defendants. Considered a crucial turning point in treaty negotiations, the court's decision in this case upheld aboriginal title in British Columbia."