Folklore: Home

Course Reserves

Log into Course Reserves, then select Find Lists to locate & add your course.

Daily Life Online: World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new window
This traces the origins and development of all aspects of traditions around the world. It includes content from a number of standard reference sources.

Dictionary of English Folklore
Informative and entertaining explanations of a wide range of folklore subjects; from nosebleeds and wishbones to cats and hot cross buns, also characters such as The Sandman, Jack the Giant Killer, and Robin Hood.
The Emergence of Folklore in Everyday Life
Just for undergraduate students. Introductions to particular topics or genres and how to conduct fieldwork in that area. Sample student project papers are included along with useful annotated bibliographies for further reading.
Motif-index of folk-literature : a classification of narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, medieval romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends
Stith Thompson's classic text in electronic format.

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
This is a cross-cultural database containing full-text ethnographies on ethnic, cultural, religious and national groups from around the world.
Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
This database contains oral history collections from around the world. It includes some full-text material and provides links to other material, text and audio/video, that is available on other web sites.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
Virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions includes 35,000+ individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group.