Be sure to check out the Community Accounts and Social Statistics links!

A vital source of information about the people of Canada.

This site provides essential data and analysis on the health care system and health of Canadians.

Concise articles, combining text with tables/graphs, with reference to in-depth statistics. Ceased in 2012, and continued by Insights on Canadian Society.

Covers research sources for social work, including theory, practice, areas of service, social issues, therapy, education, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, and civil and legal rights.

Citations for journal articles, dissertations, & book reviews focused on current research in social work, family & social welfare, poverty & homelessness, addiction, gerontology, violence, abuse, neglect, community & mental health services.

Records describing journal articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of publications, plus abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Subjects: crime, demography, ethnic relations, family and social welfare, substance abuse, social planning, social psychology, violence.

The American Psychological Association's resource for peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science & mental health. Includes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, reports, & dissertations.

Covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Records from journals, health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Includes links to databases and related resources from NCBI.

Comprises records describing health-related articles, reports, surveys & other resource documents pertaining to health & medical issues of the American Indian, Alaska Native & Canadian First Nations populations - contemporary articles, studies & reports focused on the medical (physical & psychological), anthropological & administrative aspects of aboriginal health.

Full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offering a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, it includes journals, books, magazines and more. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

See the full list of databases you can use to find research content in social work.

A continuously updated resource published in partnership with the National Association of Social Workers.

Transcripts of real therapy & counseling sessions, first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, & content from reference works to contextualize the primary material.

Provides access to up-to-date research on Canadian child welfare programs and policies. The Portal is a partnership supported by the McGill Centre for Research on Children and Families (CRCF), the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work at the University of Toronto, PART (Practice and Research Together), the Canada Research Chair in First Nations Child and Family Services Implementation, the Canada Research Chair in Social Services for Vulnerable Children, and the Canada Research Chair in Child Welfare.

Published by the University of Saskatchewan, this resource covers electronic resources on indigenous people and studies worldwide - Includes books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, and more.

A good starting point for policy research.

This covers over 500 topics on all aspects of Canadian social work and social welfare in all areas of our vast country. Published in 2005.