This website provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages from 1832-1922.

This free resource includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

100 milestone documents of American history. These documents reflect diversity and unity, past and future, and the commitment as a nation to continue to strive to “form a more perfect union.”

This ongoing project of the National Security Archive, is assembling at a single location documents from wide-ranging sources on United States government policy toward rendition, detainees, interrogation, and torture. The Archive project is consolidating the documents and cataloging them, while also providing full-text searching, in order to facilitate public access.

1600-present

"Books and manuscripts by and about the Jesuits, including anti-Jesuit writings, from the founding of the Society of Jesus in 1540 to the present, with a focus on the Pre-Suppression period, i.e., 1540 to 1773."

"The Antislavery Collection contains several hundred printed pamphlets and books pertaining to slavery and antislavery in New England, 1725-1911. The holdings include speeches, sermons, proceedings and other publications of organizations such as the American Anti-Slavery Society and the American Colonization Society, and a small number of pro-slavery tracts."

"Brings together rare works published in America and collections of documents and personal papers from Americans, and about America. Note: excludes Pennsylvania."

Contains the Adams Family Papers, the Thomas Jefferson Papers, a collection of other presidential papers, primary documents related to the American Revolution, the Boston Massacre, and Margaret Hill's World War I photographs.

Includes manuscripts, books, pamphlets, and photographs. Focus is on women in the United States and their effect on economics.

Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.

Provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.

Covers critical post World War II international events, countries & U.S. foreign policy decisions. Comprises over 80,000 declassified primary documents organized in 36 subject collections.

Comprises 900,000+ records describing journal, newspaper, & magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals - provides access to emerging theories & practices of radical social change, socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.

Index, Full Text - Articles from British, Irish, Canadian, Caribbean and Indian magazines, journals & newspapers - Covers all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political & literary life: colonial life, provincial / rural affairs, the French and American revolutions.

Historical works which contributed to the formation of American politics, culture, and ideals

"Daniel Brodhead served as a colonel in the Revolutionary War, commanding the Western Department from his headquarters at Fort Pitt from 1779 to 1781. The collection contains copies of orders sent by Brodhead to various military officers, including those stationed at Forts Armstrong, Wheeling, Tuscarora, and Laurens."

Books and Journals on American Social History, from 1840 to 1901.

The UBC Library’s Rare Books and Special Collections holds 250 posters concerned with the advocacy for peace, equality, and harmony during the Vietnam War era from the University of California's Berkeley campus and other regions in the San Francisco Bay Area.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the United States of America's record keeper.

Source for current and historical bills (back to the 93rd Congress, 1973-1974) and other legislative activities.

It includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton.

Contains thousands of documents such as; party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

Over 500,000 descriptive records for historical and current U.S. government publications - Includes electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches

Comprises records on reports, studies, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. by all US Federal government agencies - Includes information on agriculture; economics; energy; food; earth sciences; natural resources; technology developments; public policy; tax reform; business law; transport and infrastructure; health

Papers that cover Indian affairs, veteran affairs, naval affairs (until 1798), as well as militia and army matters.