Primary Sources : Early Modern Britain - 15th to 18th Century
- European Views of the America: 1493-1790Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
- British and Irish women's letters and diaries: from 1500-1900Spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.
- Colonial State PapersThousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
- The Cecil PapersThe Cecil Papers are a privately held archive of approximately 30,000 sixteenth and seventeenth-century manuscripts, consisting principally of the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley (1520-1598) and his son Robert, the 1st Earl of Salisbury (1563-1612).
- Parliament and the British Slave Trade 1600-1833Authoritative information on Parliament's involvement in the British slave trade between 1600 and 1807 through archival material.
- EuroDocsEuroDocs links connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
- British History OnlineA digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
- Early Modern Resourcesa gateway site for any one interested in studying the early modern period (c.1500-1800CE)
- London Lives 1600 to 1800:Crime, Poverty and SocialPolicy in the MetropolisThis site includes a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London in a fully digitised and searchable format.
- Witchcraft Collection - Cornell UniversityContains more than 3,000 books, manuscripts, and related materials. The collection focuses on witchcraft as as theology and as religious heresy.
- The Acts and Monuments Online - John FoxeProtestant martyrologies that include 1563, 1570, 1576 and 1583 editions.
- The Cause Papers in the Diocesan Courts of the Archbishopric of York, 1300-1858More than 14,000 court cases heard between 1300 and 1858 in the Church Courts of the diocese of York
- Clergy of the Church of England DatabaseContains the principal records of clerical careers from archives in England and Wales. Covers clerical lives from the Reformation to the mid-nineteenth century.
- John Strype's Survey of LondonA full-text electronic version of John Strype’s enormous two-volume edition of 1720, with its celebrated maps and plates, depicting the prominent buildings, street plans and ward boundaries of the late Stuart capital.
- Lane's Masonic RecordsListing of all the lodges established by the English Grand Lodges from the foundation of the first Grand Lodge in 1717 up until 1894.
- Bodleian Library Broadside BalladsBallads from the 16th to the 20th centuries
- American Colonist's LibraryHistorical works which contributed to the formation of American politics, culture, and ideals
- PASE: Prosopography of Anglo-Saxon EnglandInformation related to the recorded inhabitants of England from the late sixth century to the late 11th century.
- Codrington Papers, West Indies CorrespondenceCopies of correspondence and other records of the Codrington family pertaining to the West Indies and numerous estates owned by the family throughout the Caribbean region. Records date from 1272 to 1899.
Databases of Primary Sources
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowOver 100,000 titles of works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640); Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700); their revised editions; and Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineConsists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference and women's studies.
- Eighteenth Century JournalsThis Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.
- 17th - 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis collection represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.