Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A finding aid is a document created by archivists to provide detailed information about a specific collection of papers or records.
Culture as Resource
Intangible Cultural Heritage
Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH) is traditions, practices and customs. These include the stories we tell, the family events we celebrate, our community gatherings, the languages we speak, the songs we sing, knowledge of our natural spaces, our healing traditions, the foods we eat, our holidays, beliefs and cultural practices.
Newfoundland's Grand Banks Genealogy Site
This site asserts to be the "largest storehouse of original resource material on the Internet, relating to Newfoundland in North America..." The site provides access to original genealogical and historical data in the form of census information, Provincial wide directory publications, church, parish, and cemetery records, and many other primary sources.
Resources for Genealogists
List compiled by the Centre for Newfoundland Studies. Note: access to Stonepics database is available in CNS.
Archives and Special Collections - QEII Library - 3rd Floor
The Archives and Special Collections holds an extensive collection of original manuscripts, personal papers, diaries, scrapbooks, photographs and other such materials which document various aspects of Newfoundland society. You can access their finding aids, guides to holdings, and virtual exhibits from their website.
Faculty of Medicine Founders' Archive - Health Sciences Library
Faculty of Medicine Founders' Archive collects archival material relevant to the founding and operations of the Faculty of Medicine at MUN and the role played by the Faculty of Medicine in the evolution of health care in the province.
Maritime History Archive - Memorial University
The Maritime History Archive collects and preserves documents relating to the history of maritime activities in Newfoundland and Labrador and throughout the North Atlantic world.
Memorial University of Newfoundland Folklore and Language Archive (MUNFLA)
The archive comprises extensive collections of Newfoundland and Labrador folksongs and music, folk narratives of many kinds, oral history, folk customs, beliefs and practices, childlore and descriptions of material culture.
The Rooms Provincial Archives
The Rooms Provincial Archives preserve those records of the Government of NL which are deemed to have enduring legal, fiscal, evidential or research value and records from private sources which have enduring value to the history of the province.
Association of Newfoundland and Labrador Archives (ANLA).
ANLA represents archives, archivists and individuals committed to the preservation of archival records in Newfoundland and Labrador. Browse their directory and database for a link to their members and organizations from across the province.
Digital Archives and Virtual Exhibits
Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window
Includes books, government documents and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century
Centre for Newfoundland Studies
The CNS should be your first stop for research help about Newfoundland and Labrador topics (3rd floor of QEII Library). It is important to establish facts and dates before tackling primary sources. The Centre holds published primary sources in the form of newspapers, government reports, Hansard, maps, memoirs, autobiographies, newsletters, etc.
||Ask CNS a Question
||Periodical Article Bibliography
Historical Directory of Newfoundland and Labrador Newspapers
Newfoundland's first newspaper was published in 1807. Search this directory to find out which newspapers would be relevant for your topic and where they are located. Many of these newspapers are held in the Centre for Newfoundland Studies on microfilm. A reader/scanner/printer is available. The Daily News, Evening Telegram and Western Star are kept in the microforms room on Level 1 of the QEII Library.
C.O. 194 Series (Digitized)
Important collection of primary materials (government despatches and correspondence) on microfilm in the CNS from 1696 to 1922. Volumes 1 to 120 (1696-1844) have been digitized.
Colonial State Papers
Thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers
Rich, detailed primary source for Britain, its colonies & the wider world over the past three centuries.