Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Individual Reference Sources
Individual Political Science Reference Sources for background information on your topic.
Oxford Reference Collections
Other reference collections
Reference Universe searches across specialized research encyclopedias. Results may be online OR in print at one of our libraries.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Includes Country Reports and Views Wire, from the Economist.
Identifying Peer Reviewed and Scholarly Journals
Identifying Peer-Reviewed Journals
Use UlrichsWeb to confirm whether a journal is peer-reviewed. Search the exact title of the journal (in quotation marks), and look for the word "Refereed" (a synonym for "peer-reviewed"). Note that this does not mean that ALL the content inside the journal is refereed - editorials, letters to the editor, book reviews, and brief research updates are not usually peer-reviewed.
Check the journal masthead or homepage
Another method of determining peer-review is to look at the masthead or homepage of the journal to see if it is peer-reviewed. You can also see their article submission guidelines. See the example above, from the Canadian Political Science Review.
Scholarly vs. Popular periodicals
Find articles using Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Search two major Political Science databases at once: PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
To search more Political Science library databases, go here
Article search: CBCA Complete
Find books, articles, and more in OneSearch
Sage Research Methods--Cases
Want to know how researchers carry out their work? Interested in the practicalities and challenges of doing a research project? Sage Cases contextualize methods material through demonstrating the real life obstacles and choices researchers face when their project moves from paper to the often messy real world of data collection. Cases are selected from a broad variety of sources across the spectrum of academic disciplines, from Business to Sociology, and Anthropology to Political Science.
Hill Times and Embassy
Weekly Ottawa-based newspaper. Covers federal government and federal politics. An important source for political news, public policy briefings, feature stories, surveys, opinion columns and political analysis. Embassy covers foreign relations and international affairs.
Picking tour topic IS research
Europa World Plus
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions.
Yearbook of International Organizations