CMST 4001: Mass Communication and Visual Culture (Polyck-O'Neill, Fall 2025): Home
Visual and image resources
-
Pop Culture UniverseTopics related to American popular culture: music, television, film, art, fashion, recreation, sport, advertising. Search or browse by decade or subject.
-
Women's Magazine 1Searchable archive of "women's interest" magazines; includes cover-to-cover scans of magazines from the 19th to 21st century, including Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Parents, Better Homes and Gardens, Ladies' Home Journal, and Redbook.
-
Underground and Independent ComicsBrowse by series, character, genre, subject, and more.
-
Art Image databasesLibrary-subscribed databases include ARTStor and the Index of Medieval Art; list also includes many free online art image resources.
Where to find scholarly sources
-
Newspaper databasesSeveral newspaper databases include full-page scans so you can see images in their context. See Proquest Historical Newspapers collections for the Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and Irish Times. See also New York Times: TimesMachine, and The Times (London). Newfoundland newspapers available through the Eureka.cc database.
Sources for topic ideas
For topic ideas, you could browse the visual and image resources listed elsewhere on this guide. For art images, you could open ARTStor and enter a keyword in the Search Images box to look for something that interests you.
Or browse some of the books below:
-
The Handbook of Visual CultureA couple of the chapters were assigned readings, but skimming the rest of the book could be a good way to find a topic of interest to you.
The scholarly conversation
Database search help
Cite your sources
Generative AI guide
-
Generative AI guideA guide from Memorial University Libraries exploring generative AI tools, how they work, and how to critically evaluate their use.
Ask us
