Polls: Home
What are Polls?
A poll is a survey of public opinion taken by sampling a cross section of the population. Polls are generally designed to reflect the opinions of a population through a series of questions. They help gauge public opinion as well as inform the public on various issues such as political attitudes, voting behaviour, the economy, health, education, demography and commodity use.
Ask us
Canadian and International Data
- Data pageMemorial Libraries data page for Canadian and International Data
Evaluating Poll Results
Polls
- Gallup.com (2008-)Gallup.com provides polling data and in-depth analysis on issues like elections, politics, foreign policy, social issues, management, education, healthcare, and the economy.
- Ipsos News & PollsThe Ipsos News Center contains survey-based reports written by Ipsos research professionals in North America and around the world. Click the flag in the right corner to change the national focus. Each report contains detailed data tables, demographic breakdowns, charts, and/or PowerPoint slides.
- World Public opinion.orgProvides a source of in-depth information and analysis on public opinion from around the world on international issues. Presents summary and in-depth articles about various polls taken around the world.
- Roper Center For Public Opinion ResearchOne of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.
- Pew Research CentreA well-known name in public polling research. US and World focus.
- Angus Reid InstituteA recognized source for Canadian polling data.
- Public opinion research reportsProvides access to information about public opinion research contracted after August 1, 2006 for which the final reports have been submitted to Library and Archives Canada.
- Poll Tracker: Federal poll averages and seat projectionsAn aggregation of the latest federal polls by CBC poll analyst Éric Grenier. At the bottom of the page is a list of the most recent polls that are included in the projection.
- Canadian Government Opinion Research ReportsFederal Government public opinion polls on a variety of topics.
- Canadian Opinion Research Archive"The Canadian Opinion Research Archive makes available commercial and independent surveys to the academic, research and journalistic communities. Founded in 1992, CORA contains hundreds of surveys including thousands of discrete items collected by major commercial Canadian firms dating back to the 1970s."
Related Topics
The library maintains separate pages for statistical information on Canada, the United States, United Kingdom, United Nations and its affiliated agencies, the European Union, and other countries.
Books about Polls
Is that a fact? : a field guide to statistical and scientific informationCall Number: HA29 .B384 2016
