Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Content: For Remote Instruction

How to navigate the Library's audio and video streaming collections and incorporate content into courses delivered remotely.

For Remote Instruction

OneSearch

Audio and video streaming resources can be found by title OneSearch.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY

Academic Video Online delivers 66,000+ titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, education, film, humanities, health sciences, history, music, psychology, science, theatre, visual art, and more.

Audio Cine Films thousands of feature films from Disney Pictures, Touchstone, Pixar, Sony, Columbia, Tristar, Screen Gems,
Universal, MGM, and United Artists.

Criterion-On-Demand digital library of feature films, including, but not limited to: Paramount, DreamWorks, Mongrel Media, Sony, Alliance, Miramax, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate, The Weinstein Co., as well as a smaller number of independent producers. Films include 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features. Didn't find your film? You can search the entire catalogue and request that the library add it to our subscription.

Curio provides institutional access to educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada.

Ethnographic Video Online streams 1,600+ productions that include ethnographic films, documentaries, and select feature films on topics such as language and culture, social stratification and status, kinship and families, migration and conflict, religion, music, dance, and art.

Films on Demand provides access to 40,000+ titles and 300,000+ segments across a variety of disciplines including political science, business and economics, health sciences, history, philosophy, and physical sciences.

Kanopy The library provides access to a small collection of films and documentaries from a variety of independent filmmakers and distributors on the Kanopy platform. Videos can be added by request from instructors.

NFB Campus (National Film Board of Canada) collection includes 6,000+ productions ranging from documentaries, animations, experimental films, and interactive works.

EDUCATION

SAGE Video: Education comprised of 450 videos, this collection offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership, to support students needing to understand theory or how to apply it in practice.

ENGLISH LITERATURE

ProQuest One Literature provides access to 2,300+ audio and video items that are relevant to studies in literature, literary criticism, and performance art.

MUSIC

Berliner Philharmoniker: Digital Concert Hall not only provides access to hundreds of archived concerts, but also to more than 40 live broadcasts every season.

  • Access to the Digital Concert Hall is restricted to Suncor Hall, Tuesdays from 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm, for lecture purposes
  • Users must first register with this resource while on campus to obtain use and off campus access
  • Access is limited to only one user at a time

Dance Online: Dance in Video (AVON) streams nearly 750 videos covering the scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from influential performers and companies. This content supports fields of study such as dance history, dance appreciation, choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.

DRAM streams a diverse catalogue of American music from genres such as folk, opera, indigenous music, jazz, classical, early rock, and musical theatre. Musical scholars can access recordings that have largely been ignored by the commercial marketplace.

Music and Performing Arts provides access to 8,000+ videos that focus on performing artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles from across all time periods and genres. In addition, the resource streams nearly 12.4 million audio tracks. Some of the specific collections are described below.

Music Online: Classical Music Library streams 80,000+ audio tracks of works composed by masters from time periods including renaissance, baroque, pre-classical, classical, and romantic, as well as works form the 20th and 21st centuries

Music Online: Contemporary World Music provides access to nearly 3.1 million audio tracks that represent all regions around the globe. Notable genres in the collection include reggae, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, Arab swing and jazz, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, and gagaku.

Music Online: Opera in Video contains 200+ videos of documentaries, interviews, and staged opera productions. These resources represent the work of leading performers, conductors, and opera houses around the world.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries provides access to 3,000+ audio streaming resources that encompass the world's musical and aural traditions. Genres that are represented include folk, ragtime, blues, spiritual, gospel, ballad, and instrumental. In addition, content such as oral history and biography, spoken word, poetry, and drama are included as well.

Naxos Music Library provides streaming access to nearly 2.4 million audio tracks. More than 650 labels are represented in this collection of classical, jazz, blues, rock/pop, and instrumental music.

NURSING AND HEALTH SCIENCES

AccessMedicine Multimedia contains a collection of examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, and animations.

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy streams videos that provide medical and allied health students and practitioners with learning aids that present images of the body in three dimensions.

Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination streams videos that focus on head-to-toe assessments. In addition, there are tutorials designed to test clinical reasoning skills.

Nurse Theorists (Fitne) streams videos and hosts interactive programs for nurses, students, and nurse educators. These resources can help to provide alternate learning experiences, remediate deficiencies, and reinforce nursing content taught in the classroom.

Nursing (AVON) provides access to nearly 2,900 streaming videos that focus on nursing practices that include performing assessments, and administering medications, treatments, and care.

Nursing and Allied Health Database contains nursing training videos that cover important topics such as obstetrical nursing, health care safety, clinical skills, cultural awareness in healthcare, and many more.

PSYCHOLOGY AND COUNSELING

Counseling and Therapy in Video (AVON) contains nearly 350 videos from therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by counseling professionals.

Psychology Database provides access to 300+ videos that represent areas of study such as behavioral, clinical, developmental, and social psychology.

Psychotherapy.net streams 300+ videos that deal with therapeutic issues such as addiction, anxiety, depression, dissociation, personality disorders, and severe mental illness. Included in this collection are 40+ videos that focus solely on social work.

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Columbia International Affairs Online provides access to 200+ videos that cover fields of study such as geopolitics, foreign policy, international relations, public health, and global security.

THEATRE

Digital Theatre + provides over 1000 current, full-length theatre productions and educational resources in collaboration with over 50 world-class theatre companies, including the Royal Shakespeare Company, L.A. Theatre Works, Australian National Theatre, Stratford Festival, and many more.

Theatre in Video contains nearly 500 productions that focus on the performance of the world's leading plays. Included as well are documentaries on the subject of theatre, as well as interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors.

VISUAL ART

National Gallery of Art contains both audio and visual streaming productions and series that focus on the celebrated collections and exhibitions of the Washington, DC, gallery.

Request a Purchase

Is there a film you need for a course? The Library can purchase streaming videos or DVDs to assist with teaching and learning.
Request a Purchase

DVD Digitization Service

For online and remote course delivery, the Library has partnered with CITL & ITS to provide a digitization service for films when a streaming version is unavailable to license. We may be able to digitize a non-infringing copy that is not protected by digital locks; one that is owned by the library or provided to us by an Instructor.

Access to the streaming version is made available through Brightspace using CITL's secure, responsive and password protected server. The digital version is destroyed once the course has ended.

Once the DVD has been digitized, you will be provided with an embed code that can be added to your Brightspace shell.

For more information, please contact your branch:

Course Resources (e-Reserves)

Want to create a list of streaming audio or video resources for your students? Its easy to do using the library's online Course Resources, or "e-reserves", service. We can link to streaming content, podcasts, YouTube videos and more! Plus, we take care of any copyright clearance.

Find out more

Copyright Help

Have a question about copyright?

The Library is responsible for copyright management at Memorial University. Please check out our Copyright Help pages, or contact your Copyright Liaison Librarian for assistance.

Ask us!