How To Find Book Reviews: Social Sciences

All Social Sciences

Academic Search Premier
Covers 1887-present. Limit to Book Review under document type.
Books in Print
Search for your book title. Books with reviews include a blue star. Once you click on the title of the book, select Professional Reviews on the left hand side.
Choice Reviews Online
Covers 1988-present. Reviews resources in higher education. Subjects include: anthropology, business, economics, education, geography, history, political science, psychology, and sociology.

H-Net Reviews
Covers 1993-present. Scholarly resource reviewing monographs, textbooks, reference and multimedia teaching materials - more than 10,000 reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
Varying coverage dates. To search for book reviews, select advanced search and limit to Reviews under item type.
Periodicals Archive Online
Covers 1815-2002. Limit to Review under document type. Subject coverage includes: area studies; architecture; economics; education; gender studies; general social sciences; geography; law; linguistics; political science; psychology; and sociology.
Periodicals Index Online
Covers 1665-2000. Limit to Review under document type. Subject coverage includes: area studies; architecture; economics; education; gender studies; general social sciences; geography; law; political science; psychology; and sociology.
Project Muse
Covers 1960-present. To search for book reviews, select advanced search and limit to Journals, Reviews under content type.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Covers 1902-2009. Go to advanced search and select Book Review under article type.

Book Review Index to Social Science Periodicals
Covers 1964-1974. Find it on the main floor of the QEII in the reference section. Call number: Z 7163 R93.
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals
Covers 1886-1974. Subject coverage includes history, political science, and sociology. Find it on the main floor of the QEII in the reference section, using call number Z 7163 C652, volumes 1-15.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Covers 1907-1984. Select Book Review from the Document Type list before you search.
Reader's Guide Retrospective
Covers 1890-1982. Covers important history-making events. Limit document type to book review before you search.

Factiva
Covers 1975-present. Factiva's date range is set to the last 3 months by default. Change this to all dates (or a specific date range) underneath the search box.
LexisNexis Academic
To find book reviews, select "search by content type" above the search box. Select "all news". Choose "advanced options" underneath the search bar and select Book Reviews under article type.
New York Review of Books
Covers 1963-present. Book reviews from NYRB magazine.

New York Times Books
Covers 1981-present. Book reviews from the book section of The New York Times. Use the search box on the top right.

America History and Life
Covers late 1800's-present. Limit to Book Review under document type.
Historical Abstracts
Covers 1955-present. Limit to Book Review under document type.

Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature
Covers years 1961-2006. Find it on the 2nd floor of the QEII in the reference section, using call number KE 8 I5.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers 1973-present. Select both Book Review and Book Review from the document type list.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Covers 1975-present. Limit to Book Review under document type.

SocINDEX with Full text
Covers 1940-present. Limit to Book Review under document type.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers 1952-present. Limit to Book Review under document type.