How To Find Book Reviews: Arts & Humanities
All Arts & Humanities
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCovers 1887-present. Limit to Book Review under document type.
- Books in Print This link opens in a new windowSearch for your book title. Books with reviews include a blue star. Once you click on the title of the book, select Professional Reviews on the left hand side.
- Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new windowCovers 1988-present. Reviews resources in higher education. Subjects include: architecture, fine arts, photography, language and literature, philosophy, and religion.
- Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities JournalsCovers 1802-1974. Find it on the main floor of the QEII in the reference section, using call number AZ 221 C65 1982, volumes 1-10.
- Comprehensive Index to English-Language Little Magazines, 1890-1970Covers 1890-1970. Subject coverage includes: poetry, criticism, and fiction. Find it on the main floor of the QEII, using call number PN 4836 S23 1976
- H-Net ReviewsCovers 1993-present. Scholarly resource reviewing monographs, textbooks, reference and multimedia teaching materials - more than 10,000 reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowCovers 1907-1984. Select Book Review from the Document Type list before you search.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowCovers reviews from 1906-present. Limit to Review under publication type.
- Index to Book Reviews in the HumanitiesCovers 1960-1990. Find it on the 2nd floor of the QEII in the reference section, using call number Z 1035 A1 I63.
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new windowVarying coverage dates. To search for book reviews, select advanced search and limit to Reviews under item type.
- New York Times Book Review IndexCovers 1896-1970. Find it on the 2nd floor of the QEII in the reference section, using call number Z 1035 A1 N4 1973.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowCovers 1815-2002. Limit to Review under document type. Subject coverage includes: applied arts; fine arts; folklore; general humanities; history; law; linguistics; literature; music; performing arts; philosophy; religion; and theology.
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowCovers 1665-2000. Limit to Review under document type. Subject coverage includes: fine arts; folklore; history; general humanities; law; linguistics; literature; music; performing arts; philosophy; religion; and theology.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowCovers 1960-present. To search for book reviews, select advanced search and limit to Journals, Reviews under content type.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowCovers 1890-1982. Limit document type to book review before you search. Subject coverage includes arts, dance, drama, film & television, and religion.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowCovers 1902-2009. Go to advanced search and select Book Review under article type.
News and Magazine Sources
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowCovers 1975-present. Factiva's date range is set to the last 3 months by default. Change this to all dates (or a specific date range) underneath the search box.
- LexisNexis Academic This link opens in a new windowTo find book reviews, select "search by content type" above the search box. Select "all news". Choose "advanced options" underneath the search bar and select Book Reviews under article type.
- New York Review of Books This link opens in a new windowCovers 1963-present. Book reviews from NYRB magazine.
- New York Times BooksCovers 1981-present. Book reviews from the book section of The New York Times. Use the search box on the top right.
Older Book Reviews
- A Guide to Critical Reviews of United States Fiction, 1870-1910Covers 1870-1910. Find it on the main floor of the QEII, using call number PS 377 E35 1871
- Index to Book Reviews in England, 1775-1800Covers 1775-1800. Subject coverage includes poetry, drama, and fiction. Find it on the 4th floor of the QEII, using call number Z 1035 A1 F672 1997
- Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1798-1820Covers years 1798-1820. Subject coverage includes: criticism, poetry, drama, theatre, and fiction. Find it on the main floor of the QEII, using call number Z 2013 W36 1972
- Literary Writing in America: A BibliographyCovers creative American literature written between 1850-1940. Find it on the main floor of the QEII, using call number Z 1225 L58 v. 1-8
Art
- Art Index This link opens in a new windowCovers 1929-present. Limit to Book Review under document type.
Literature
- Literature Online This link opens in a new windowCovers 1884-present. To search for book reviews, select Criticism, then All Criticism. Finally select Reviews under source type.
- Science Fiction Book Review IndexCovers years 1923-1990 (title changes to Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Review Index from 1985-1990).
Find it on the main floor of the QEII in the reference section, using call number: PN 3433.8 S35
Music
- Music IndexCovers 1949-1973. Find it on the main floor of the QEII in the reference section, using call number ML 118 M88.
- Music Index Online This link opens in a new windowCovers 1973-present. Some full text available. Limit to Book Review under document type.
Philosophy
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowCovers 1940-present. Limit to Book Review under document type.
Religious Studies
- ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index This link opens in a new windowOnline index that covers 1981-present. Limit to Book Review under publication type.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowOnline index that covers 1949-present. Limit to Review under publication type.
- Catholic Periodical and Literature IndexCovers 1968-1980. Find it on the main floor of the QEII in the reference section, using call number BX 800 A1 C37.
- Catholic Periodical IndexCovers years 1930/33 to 1965/66. Find it on the main floor of the QEII in the reference section, using call number BX 800 A1 C37.
- Critical Review of Books in ReligionCovers 1988-1990 and 1992-1998. This is a print index that can be accessed by going to the Periodicals Help Desk on level 1 in the library.