Skip to Main Content

Memorial University Libraries

APA citation style

A guide to citing sources using APA Style, 7th edition

General rules

For more information, see sections 10.2-10.3 (pages 321-328) of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition.

Books with multiple authors or editors

For books with up to and including 20 authors or editors, include the names of all authors or editors.

Regarding publishers

Do not include place of publication. If more than one publisher is listed, include all of them in the order they are listed, separated by semicolons. For publisher names, do not include “Inc.” or “Ltd.” If the author and publisher are the same, leave out publisher name to avoid repetition.

Editions other than the first

Include the number of the edition only if it is not the first edition.

Print books

Citation format:

Author, A. A., Author, A. A., & Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book (# of edition if not the first). Publisher/s.

Sample reference list entries:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-5 (5th ed.).

Kagan, J., & Havemann, E. (1968). Psychology: An introduction. Harcourt; Brace and World.

Ebooks

Ebooks from a library database

Provide the DOI (digital object identifier) of the ebook formatted as a hyperlink. Do not include the database name.

Citation format:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book. Publisher/s. DOI

Sample reference list entry:

Marks, D. F. (2018). A general theory of behavior. Sage Publications. http://doi.org/10.4135/9781529714616

Ebooks from a library database with no DOI

Do not include URLs for ebooks accessed through the library. (Because you have to log in to access material in a database, the URL will time-out and break for those who try to click it later.) Do not include the database name.

Citation format:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book. Publisher/s.

Sample reference list entry:

Domhoff, G. W. (2003). The scientific study of dreams: Neural networks, cognitive development, and content analysis. American Psychological Association.

Ebooks not accessed through a library database, with no DOI and a "non-database" URL

Provide the URL as a hyperlink if there is no DOI. You may use a shortened URL generated by a link shortener. Either the long or short URL is acceptable.

Citation format:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book. Publisher/s.URL

Sample reference list entry:

Holland, N. N. (1982). Laughing: A psychology of humor. Cornell University Press. https://bit.ly/3iFqoyL

Edited books

General format

Start with the editor followed by (Ed.) or, for multiple editors (Eds.).

Sample reference list entry:

Wright, M. J., & Myers, C. R. (Eds.). (1983). History of academic psychology in Canada. C. J. Hogrefe.

Articles or chapters in edited books

Citation format:

Article/Chapter Author. (Year). Title of article/chapter. In Editor’s Name (Ed.), Title of book (pp. page #). Publisher/s. DOI or URL if applicable

Sample reference list entry:

Einar, V. K. (2007). Screening of eating disorders in the general population. In P. M. Goldfarb (Ed.), Psychological tests and testing research trends (pp. 141-50). Nova Science Publishers.

Books with mutliple volumes

List the volume number in parenthesis after the title of the book. If the work is an edition other than the 1st, include the edition immediately before the volume number.

Citation format:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book (# ed., Vol. #). Publisher/s. DOI or URL if applicable

Sample reference list entry:

Eisenberg, N. (Ed.). (2006). Handbook of child psychology (6th ed., Vol. 3). John Wiley & Sons.

Translated books

List the translator's name after the title of the book, separated by a period.

Citation format:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book. (T. T. Translator, Trans.). Publisher/s. (Original work published xxxx). DOI or URL if applicable

Sample reference list entry:

Freud, S. (1960). Jokes and their relation to the unconscious. (J. Strachey, Trans.). Routledge and Kegan Paul. (Original work published 1905).