Archival material is not included in the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual. However, the APA Style website provides some supplementary guidance; see the APA Style webpage on Archival Documents and Collections for more information.

When citing archival material, the following elements should be included:

Item number: The number assigned to an item or file within a collection or fonds (e.g., 9.01.001).

Title: The title of the item, file, and series when applicable (e.g., 9.01.001 Governor’s Report on the Seal Fishery, 1913. 9.01 Research Materials, 9.0 Death on the Ice.)

Collection number: The identifier assigned to a collection or fonds by the archives. Can appear with the prefix of COLL, MF, or OMF (e.g., COLL-115).

Name of fonds or collections: The name or title assigned to a collection of fonds (e.g., Cassie Brown Collection).

Repository: The name of the archive and/or institution and its geographical location (e.g., Archives & Special Collections, Queen Elizabeth II Library, Memorial University Libraries, St. John’s, NL.).

In-text citation format:

Reference list format:

Sample in-text citation:

Sample reference list entry:

Sample in-text citation:

Sample reference list entry:

The Society of American Archivists (SAA) defines ephemera as “materials, usually printed documents, created for a specific, limited purpose, and generally designed to be discarded after use.” Some examples of ephemera can include: postcards, posters, pamphlets, and broadsides.

Sample in-text citation:

Sample reference list entry:

This citation guide is based on the guide developed by Dalhousie University Libraries and has been adapted to reflect the archival collections within Memorial University’s Archives & Special Collections.