Skip to Main Content
Memorial University

Memorial University Libraries

Citation Management

EndNote X9 (Desktop)

Purchase

You can purchase EndNote Desktop from https://endnote.com/buy/. There is a discounted price for students.

For information on compatibility and system requirements, see https://endnote.com/product-details/compatibility/.

Installation

Make sure all programs are closed (especially Microsoft Word), then follow the usual procedures for installing software on your Windows or Macintosh personal computer. If you encounter difficulties, consult the EndNote Knowledge Base or contact us.

Installation requires Administrator rights to the computer. If you are installing on a university computer and you do not have Administrator rights, you will need to contact your local IT staff to install this software.

Adding Citations 

You can add citations from most databases directly into EndNote. The steps will vary slightly for different databases, but in general:

  1. In the database, select the citations you wish to export.
  2. Look for an option to "Export" or "Save to EndNote."
  3. From the list of export options, choose either EndNote or RIS format.
  4. Usually, this process will download a file (.ris) that you will save somewhere on your computer (usually in the Downloads folder or on your Desktop). In some cases, instead of saving the file, you will be prompted to select the EndNote application to open the file directly.

Adding Citations from PubMed

  1. Select (checkmark) the citations you wish to export (if you don't select any citations, the whole result set will be exported).
  2. Click Send To.
  3. Select Destination: File.
  4. Set the Format to MEDLINE.
  5. Click Create File. This will create a file called pubmed_result.txt.

Screenshot of the steps required to export citations from PubMed

  1. Save the file pubmed_result.txt on your computer (Note: depending on your operating system and browser, you may be given the option to open this file directly with EndNote. If you do this, skip to step 11 below).
  2. Open EndNote.
  3. Open the EndNote Library that you wish to import the files into (File > Open Library) or create a new EndNote Library (File > New).
  4. From the File menu, choose Import.
  5. Locate the file pubmed_export.txt that you saved on your computer.
  6. Set Import Options to PubMed (NLM).
  7. Click Import.

Screenshot of import options for importing citations from PubMed

Your PubMed citations will be imported. Now you may put them in a specific folder or perform other actions in EndNote.

Adding PDFs

If you already have PDFs saved on your computer, you can import them into EndNote, and EndNote will add the citation metadata, provided that the PDF document has a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) in its metadata or in its first two pages.

To import PDFs:

  1. Open EndNote.
  2. Open the EndNote Library that you wish to import the files into (File > Open Library) or create a new EndNote Library (File > New).
  3. From the File menu, choose Import.
  4. Set Import Options to PDF File or Folder.
  5. Navigate to the PDF file or to the folder containing multiple PDF files you wish to import.
  6. Click Import.

To find PDFs for citations in your EndNote Library:

  1. Open your EndNote Library
  2. From the File menu, choose Find Full Text > Find Full Text
  3. You will be prompted to sign in with your MUN Login credentials.
  4. EndNote will then search for PDFs (this can take several minutes).
  5. Progress will be displayed in the menu at the left side of the screen under the heading Find Full Text. In some cases, no PDF will be found, but EndNote may locate a URL that you can visit to try to obtain the full text yourself.

Cite While You Write

EndNote's Cite While You Write (CWYW) tools will be automatically installed when you install EndNote on your computer. CWYW integrates with Microsoft Word and allows you to add and format citations from your EndNote library while you type, and to easily insert a bibliography in your document based on the citations you have included in your text.

Depending on your operating system and version of Word, you should see a menu that looks something like this:

Screenshot of EndNote toolbar (Cite While You Write) in Word

For futher guidance on using CWYW, consult The Little EndNote How-To Book (PDF).

Find Full Text

To use EndNote's Find Full Text feature, edit the following settings:

From the EndNote Menu, select Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text

Make sure the OpenURL checkbox and all other full text search options are selected (Web of Science, DOI, PubMed).

OpenURL Path: https://mun.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01MUN_INST/01MUN_INST:01MUN?

Authenticate with URL: https://qe2a-proxy.mun.ca/login?

For more information on using this feature, see: FAQ: Full Text & PDF

EndNote's Find Full Text feature will not work for some articles. You may have to search for and locate the full text manually in OneSearch or a relevant library database, then download it and attach it to the relevant record in EndNote.