Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: Catalogued Collections

News and Recent Additions

Visit The Dog's Tooth for news about Special Collections at Memorial University Libraries.

General Rare Books

The Queen Elizabeth II Library's general rare books collection contains over 11,000 items in many languages, with works falling in all subject areas of the LC Classification System. Topics include language and literature; science and mathematics; radical pamphlets; philosophy and religion; and history.

Search for rare books in the library catalogue.

   

Roger and Marlene Peattie

The Roger and Marlene Peattie Collection contains over 3000 titles in the areas of Pre-Raphaelite literature and the Victorian illustrated book and is regarded as the best single public collection of Pre-Raphaelite literature in Canada.

Search the Peattie collection.

   
 

Herbert Halpert Folklore

The Herbert Halpert Folklore Collection comprises the private library of Dr. Herbert Halpert, the founder of Memorial University of Newfoundland's Folklore Department. It reflects Dr. Halpert's wide-ranging research and intellectual interests from his start collecting children's rhymes in New York City during the Great Depression to his ground breaking folklore research in Newfoundland during the 1960s, 1970s and beyond.

Search the Halpert collection.

   

Isaac Newell Coleridge

161 published works by and about Samuel Taylor Coleridge and his circle comprise the Coleridge Collection were donated to Memorial University by Jean Nast-Newell, widow of Isaac Newell, who collected the material.

Search the Coleridge collection.

   
 

Subject Guide