Turabian citation style

A guide to citing sources using Turabian Style, 9th edition

General rules

If the city of publication might be unfamiliar or easily confused with another city, add the abbreviation for the province/state. Where two or more cities are given, include only the first. For publisher names you can leave out “Inc.”, “Ltd.”, “Co.” or “Company.”

For more examples or more specific information about how to cite books, please see Section 17.1 of the Turabian Guide.

Books with 1-3 authors

Sample note:

1. Steven K. Katona, Valerie Rough, and David T. Richardson, A Field Guide to the Whales, Porpoises, and Seals from Cape Cod to Newfoundland, 4th ed. (Washington: Smithsonian Institute Press, 1993), 182.

Sample bibliography entry:

Katona, Steven K., Valerie Rough, and David T. Richardson. A Field Guide to Whales, Porpoises, and Seals from Cape Code to Newfoundland. 4th ed. Washington: Smithsonian Institute Press, 1993.

Books with 4 or more authors

In the note list only the first author's name followed by "et al." In the Bibliography, include all authors, no matter how many.

Sample note:

2. Kathryn Rose et al., Newfoundland and War (St. John’s, NL: Memorial University of Newfoundland Press, 2012), 4.

Sample bibliography entry:

Rose, Kathryn, Crystal Rose, Lisa Goddard, and Erin Alcock. Newfoundland and War. St. John’s, NL: Memorial University of Newfoundland Press, 2012.

Ebooks

Ebook downloaded on an ereader or other device

If you downloaded it to your computer or ebook reader, indicate the format (e.g. iBooks, Kindle, Kobo, Adobe Digital Editions PDF, etc). Avoid app or device specific page numbers, and cite by chapter or section number in the note.

Sample note:

3. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (New York: Penguin Classics, 2007), chap. 4, Kobo.

Sample bibliography entry:

Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kobo.

Ebook accessed through a library database

If you accessed it through the library, give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the name of the database (e.g Proquest Ebook Central, EBSCOHost, SpringerLink, Sage, etc.).

Sample note:

4. Jennifer Mary Hubbard, A Science on the Scales: The Rise of Canadian Atlantic Fisheries Biology, 1898-1939 (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2006), 276-77, https://doi.org/10.3138/9781442670464.

Sample bibliography entry:

Hubbard, Jennifer Mary. A Science on the Scales: The Rise of Canadian Atlantic Fisheries Biology, 1898-1939. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2006. https://doi.org/10.3138/9781442670464.

Ebook accessed online

Provide the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the URL at the end of the citation.

Sample note:

5. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (New York: Charles Schribner's Sons, 1918), 121, http://books.google.ca/books/about/Pride_and_Prejudice.html?id=s1gVAAAAYAAJ.

Sample bibliography entry:

Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Charles Schribner's Sons, 1918.

Edited books

Edited book (editor instead of an author)

Add the abbreviation "ed." after the name of the editor, or "eds." for a work with multiple editors.

Sample note:

6. Francis Robinson, ed., Cambridge Illustrated History of the Islamic World (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1996), 34.

Sample bibliography entry:

Robinson, Francis, ed. Cambridge Illustrated History of the Islamic World. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1996.

Edited book (editor in addition to an author)

When editors' names follow the title, only use "ed." in the note (never "eds.") as it refers to "edited by."

Sample note:

7. Yves Bonnefoy, New and Selected Poems, ed. John Naughton and Anthony Rudolf (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1995), 35-36.

Sample bibliography entry:

Bonnefoy, Yves. New and Selected Poems. Edited by John Naughton and Anthony Rudolf. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1996.

Chapter or section in an edited book

Sample note:

8. Noel Vietmeyer, "Forgotten Roots of the Incas," in Chilies to Chocolate: Food the Americas Gave the World, ed. Nelson Foster and Linda S. Cordell (Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1992), 104.

Sample bibliography entry:

Vietmeyer, Noel. "Forgotten Roots of the Incas." In Chilies to Chocolate: Food the Americas Gave the World, edited by Nelson Foster and Linda S. Cordell, 95-117. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1992.

Edition of a book other than the first

Sample note:

9. Roger Daniels, Coming to America: A History of Immigration and Ethnicity in American Life, 2nd ed. (New York: Harper Perenial, 2002), 84.

Sample bibliography entry:

Daniels, Roger. Coming to America: A History of Immigration and Ethnicity in American Life. 2nd ed. New York: Harper Perenial, 2002.