Turabian citation style

A guide to citing sources using Turabian Style, 9th edition

Additional resources

For more examples of articles, see sections 17.2-17.4 (pp. 187-193) of the Turabian Guide (full title: A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations: Chicago Style for students and researchers).

Print journal articles

Articles with 1-3 authors

Include all authors' names.

Sample note:

10. William G. Thomas and Edward L. Ayers, "An Overview: The Differences Slavery Made; A Close Analysis of Two American Communities," American Historical Review 108 (December 2003): 1305.

Sample bibliography entry:

Thomas, William G., and Edward L. Ayers, "An Overview: The Differences Slavery made; A Close Analysis of Two American Communities." American Historical Review 108 (December 2003): 1299-307.

Journal articles with 4 or more authors

In the note, list only the first author's name followed by "et al." In the Bibliography, include all authors, no matter how many.

Sample note:

11. Ben Hawkins et al., “The Road to Damascus,” Carnivale 2, no. 13 (2005): 18.

Sample bibliography entry:

Hawkins, Ben, Justin Crowe, Clayton Jones, Rita Sue Dreifuss, and Apollonia Bojakshiya. “The Road to Damascus.” Carnivale 2, no. 13 (2005): 1-24.

Electronic journal articles

Journal article accessed through a library database

If you accessed it through the library, give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the name of the database (e.g. Historical Abstracts, Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, Art Index, etc.).

Sample notes:

12. Pierre Pepin, Eugene Colbourne, and Gary Maillet, "Seasonal Patterns in Zooplankton Community Structure on the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelf," Progress in Oceanography 91, no. 3 (2011): 280, http://doi.org/10.1016/j.pocean.2011.01.003.

13. Christopher Small, "Why Doesn't the Whole World Love Chamber Music?" American Music 19, no. 3 (Autumn 2001): 349, JSTOR.

Sample bibliography entries:

Pepin, Pierre, Eugene Colbourne, and Gary Maillet. "Seasonal Patterns in Zooplankton Community Structure on the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelf." Progress in Oceanography 91, no. 3 (2011): 273-285. http://doi.org/10.1016/j.pocean.2011.01.003.

Small, Christopher. "Why Doesn't the Whole World Love Chamber Music?" American Music 19, no. 3 (Autumn 2001): 340-59. JSTOR.

Journal article accessed on the Internet

Give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the URL.

Sample note:

14. Kembrew McLeod, "Crashing the Spectacle: A Forgotten History of Digital Sampling, Infringement, Copyright Liberation and the End of Recorded Music," Culture Machine 10 (2009): 125, http://www.culturemachine.net/index.php/cm/article/view/349/351.

Sample bibliography entry:

McLeod, Kembrew. "Crashing the Spectacle: A Forgotten History of Digital Sampling, Infringement, Copyright Liberation and the End of Recorded Music." Culture Machine 10 (2009): 114-30. http://www.culturemachine.net/index.php/cm/article/view/349/351.

Magazine articles

Print magazine article

Cite magazines by date only, even if they have a volume/issue number. Don’t include the page number range in your bibliography.

Sample note:

15. Mark Schapiro, "New Power for 'Old Europe'," Nation, December 27, 2004, 12-13.

Sample bibliography entry:

Schapiro, Mark. "New Power for 'Old Europe'." Nation, December 27, 2004.

Electronic magazine article

If you accessed it through the library, give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the name of the database (e.g. Academic Search Complete, ProQuest Central, etc.). If you accessed it on the internet, include the URL, and there may be no page numbers to cite.

Sample note:

16. Frank Moher, "Son of the Rock," Backofthebook.ca: Canada's Online Magazine, October 11, 2008, http://backofthebook.ca/2008/10/11/son-of-the-rock/331/.

Sample bibliography entry:

Moher, Frank. "Son of the Rock." Backofthebook.ca: Canada's Online Magazine. October 11, 2008. http://backofthebook.ca/2008/10/11/son-of-the-rock/331/.

Newspaper articles

Print newspaper article

Do not include page numbers for newspapers in the reference list or in-text citations.

Sample note:

17. Kilfoy, Cameron, "Lost Bales of Hay Cause Serious Highway Accident," The Telegram, November 15, 2023.

Sample bibliography entry:

Kilfoy, Cameron. "Lost Bales of Hay Cause Serious Highway Accident." The Telegram, November 15, 2023.

Online newspaper or news article

If you accessed it through the library, give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the name of the database (e.g. Factiva, Academic Search Complete, ProQuest Central, etc.). If you accessed it on the internet, include the URL. Do not include page numbers for newspapers. If there is no author, begin with the article title.

Articles from news websites can usually be cited like articles in newspapers.

Online newspaper or news articles are rarely included in bibliographies, however you may include an article only if it is "critical to your argument or frequently cited."

Sample notes:

18. Gordon Pitts, "The Fishery is Dead; Long Live the Fishery," Globe and Mail, February 18, 2008, Nexis Uni.

19. “Blueberry Heist Leaves Farmers Searching for Answers,” CBC News, September 21, 2021. https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/newfoundland-labrador/blueberry-theft-farm-nl-1.6182971.

Newspaper article with no author

Do not include page numbers for newspapers. If there is no author, begin with the article title. Newspaper articles are rarely included in bibliographies, however you may include an article only if it is "critical to your argument or frequently cited."

Sample note:

17. "Cadbury Targets Russia," Globe and Mail, May 22, 1995.