Class lecture, speech, or academic talk

Put the lecture title, if known, in quotation marks after the speaker's name. If the lecture is untitled, place the course name in square brackets.

Sample reference list entry:

Class Notes/File on Course Website (e.g., Brightspace)

Turabian doesn’t provide specific advice. Memorial University Libraries advises: Put the file’s title in quotation marks. Add a description in square brackets, e.g. Lecture Notes, PowerPoint, Video, etc. If there is no date available, include the date you accessed it.

Sample reference list entry:

Print dictionary or encyclopedia entries

For commonly used or well-known reference books, do not give full publication information; only provide edition, if other than first. Cite the title of the entry proceeded by s.v., meaning sub verbo, or "under the word" (plural s.vv.). Well-known dictionaries and encyclopedias do not need to be included in your Reference List.

Sample in-text citation:

Electronic dictionary or encyclopedia entries

If accessed through the library, give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the name of the database (e.g. Oxford Reference, Credo Reference, etc.). If accessed on the internet, include the URL and if there is no date provided, include a date of access.

Sample in-text citations:

For more examples or more specific information about how to cite Canadian Government Documents, please see Section 19.11.9 of the Turabian Guide.

Print Canadian government documents

Reference list format:

Sample reference list entry:

Electronic Canadian government documents

If no date of publication or revision is given, use the abbreviation "n.d." for "no date” and include the date you accessed it. Do not use the date of access in your in-text citation.

Sample reference list entry:

For more examples or more specific information about how to cite articles, please see Section 19.6 of the Turabian Guide.

Personal communication (e.g., conversation, email, text, DM)

Personal communications can be cited in the text only.

Sample in-text citations:

Unpublished interview

In your in-text citation, use the name of the person interviewed. If you cannot reveal the identity of the person interviewed, only cite it in the text. Do not include in Reference List.

Sample in-text citations:

Sample reference list entries:

For more examples or more specific information about how to cite Theses and Dissertations, please see Section 19.7.1 of the Turabian Guide.

Print theses and dissertations

Sample reference list entry:

Electronic theses and dissertations

If accessed through a library database, include the database name (e.g., ProQuest Dissertations & These Global). If accessed through the open internet, include a DOI or URL for the work.

Sample reference list entry: