Class lecture, speech, or academic talk

Put the lecture title, if known, in quotation marks after the speaker's name. If the lecture is untitled, place the course name in square brackets.

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Class notes or files on a course website (e.g., Brightspace)

Turabian doesn’t provide specific advice. Memorial University Libraries advises: Put the file’s title in quotation marks after the Instructor's name. Add a description in square brackets, e.g. Lecture Notes, PowerPoint, Video, etc. If there is no date available, include the date you accessed it.

Turabian doesn’t provide specific advice for citing course notes in a bibliography. Memorial University Libraries advises only including in notes.

Sample note:

Dictionary or encyclopedia entry (print)

For commonly used or well-known reference books, do not give full publication information; only provide edition, if other than first. Cite the title of the entry proceeded by s.v., meaning sub verbo, or "under the word" (plural s.vv.).

In Turabian Style, well-known dictionaries and encyclopedias do not need to be included in bibliographies.

Sample note:

Dictionary or encyclopedia entry (online)

If accessed through the library, give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the name of the database (e.g. Oxford Reference, Credo Reference etc.). If accessed on the internet, include the URL. If there is no date provided, include a date of access.

In Turabian Style, well-known dictionaries and encyclopedias do not need to be included in bibliographies.

Sample note:

Canadian government document (print)

For more examples or more specific information about how to cite Canadian Government Documents, please see Section 17.11.9 of the Turabian Guide.

Note format:

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Canadian government document (online)

If no date of publication or revision is given, include the date you accessed it.

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

For more examples or more specific information about how to cite Interviews and Personal Communications, please see Section 17.6 of the Turabian Guide.

Unpublished interview

If you cannot reveal the identity of the person interviewed, provide a generic description of their identity (e.g., "undergraduate student").

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Interviews are not included in the bibliography unless they are available for others to access (for example, in a library or archive, or posted online).

Personal communication (e.g., conversation, email, text, DM)

Personal communications can be cited in the text only, or in a note.

Personal communications should only be cited in the text or in notes, but not in the bibliography.

Sample in-text citations:

Sample note:

Include the director’s name/s. Only include writers, actors, producers, etc. if relevant to your research. Include the company that produced or distributed the movie and the year it was released. If you are citing a specific clip, you can include the timings in the note.

You can start your citation with either the title of the film or the name of the director.

For more examples or more specific information about how to cite multimedia in the visual and performing arts, please see Section 17.10 of the Turabian Guide.

Films accessed via streaming platforms

If accessed through the library, include the database name (e.g. Audio-Cine Films, Digital Theatre+, etc.). If accessed through the internet include a URL.

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entries:

Films on DVD

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

For more examples or more specific information about how to cite Theses and Dissertations, please see Section 17.7.1 of the Turabian Guide.

Thesis or dissertation (print)

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Thesis or dissertation (online)

If accessed through the library, give the name of the database (e.g. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.). If accessed on the internet, include the URL.

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry: