A complete reference should always contain enough information to enable any reader to locate the book, either physically or digitally.

In a note, state the author's full name in natural name order, starting with the first name (e.g., Lisa Moore). In a bibliography entry, invert the first author's name, starting with the last name (e.g., Moore, Lisa). Subsequent author names are written in natural name order.

The publisher's name may be slightly abbreviated by omitting words like Inc., Ltd., Co. (14.33).

In the 18th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, the place of publication is no longer required for books published since 1900 (14.30).

Note format:

Bibliography entry format:

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

List authors in the same order in which they appear within the source. Separate author names with a comma and use the conjunction "and" before the final author's name.

In the bibliography entry, only the first author’s name is inverted, and all other author names are written in natural order, beginning with the first name (13.23).

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

In the note, cite only the name of the first author followed by "et al."

In the bibliography entry, list up to 6 authors' names. If there are more than 6, list only the first 3 followed by "et al." List authors in the same order in which they appear within the source. Only the first author’s name is inverted in the bibliography, and all other author names are written in natural order, beginning with the first name (13.23).

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Ebooks from the web

Include the book's DOI, formatted as a URL, as the last part of the citation. If a DOI is not available, include the URL (14.60).

If page numbers are not available from your source, use a chapter number, section heading, or other indicator (14.59). In your notes, use a DOI or URL that is associated with the specific section, chapter, or page you are citing, if one is available. In the bibliography entry, you may instead use the DOI or URL for the entire book.

Sample notes:

Sample bibliography entries:

Ebooks from a library database

Include the book's DOI, formatted as a URL, as the last part of the citation. If a DOI for the source is not available, include the database name instead. Do not include a library database URL (14.60).

Sample notes:

Sample bibliography entries:

Ebooks downloaded onto a device

If you downloaded it to your computer or e-book reader, indicate the format or device that you used to access the source (e.g., Kindle edition, Kobo edition, PDF e-book, EPUB e-book) (14.58). If page numbers are not available, use a chapter number, section heading, or other indicator (14.59).

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Books with editors and no author

In full note citations and in bibliographies, the abbreviation ed. or eds. follows the name, preceded by a comma (13.22).

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Books with editors in addition to an authors

The edited work of one author is normally listed with the author’s name appearing first and the name(s) of the editor(s) appearing after the title, preceded by edited by or ed. When editors' names follow the title, only use "ed." (not "eds.") as it refers to "edited by" (13.24).

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Chapters or sections in single-author books

When a specific chapter (or other titled part of a book) is cited in the notes, the author’s name is followed by the title of the chapter (or other part), followed by in, followed by the title of the book. Write the section title in quotation marks (14.8).

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Chapters or sections in edited books

For sections and chapters within edited, multi-author books and anthologies, list the chapter author's name first, and the editor's name after the title of the book (13.25). In the 18th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, a page range for the chapter is no longer required in the bibliography entry.

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Translated books are cited similarly to edited books. List the author’s name appearing first and the name(s) of the translator(s) after the title. In a note, the translator name is preceded by "trans." In a bibliography entry, the translator name is preceded by the words "Translated by" (14.6).

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Include the edition of the book if it is other than the first. Add the number of the edition after the title, and after the name of any editor(s) or translator(s) (14.15).

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry: