Chicago citation style

A guide to citing sources using the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition

Encyclopedia articles (e.g., Grove or Oxford Music Online)

Chicago Style recommends that most major general encyclopedias and dictionaries be cited only in-text and not in the reference list. However, more specialized encyclopedias like those specific to the discipline of music, it is usually more appropriate to cite an encyclopedia entry similarly to a section of a multi-authored book, and to cite the work both in-text and in your reference list (14.234).

Online encyclopedia articles

If there is no update or modification date given, add a statement of when it was accessed (e.g., Accessed October 22, 2017) before the DOI.

Sample reference list entry:

Hopkins, G. W. and Paul Griffiths. 2001. “Boulez, Pierre.” In Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online. Last updated January 20, 2016. https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.03708.

Print encyclopedia articles

Sample reference list entry:

Hopkins, G. W. and Paul Griffiths. 2001. “Boulez, Pierre.” In The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrell, vol. 4: 98-108. London: MacMillian.

Published music scores

Use the same basic format as you would for citing books in Chicago style. Include editors or translators as appropriate.

Print score

Sample reference list entry:

Rachmaninoff, Serge. 1993. Sonata No. 2, Op. 36. London: Boosey & Hawkes.

Online score

Sample reference list entry:

Ravel, Maurice. 1919. Le tombeau de Couperin. Paris: Durand & Fils. http://imslp.org/wiki/Le_tombeau_de_Couperin_(orchestra)_(Ravel%2C_Maurice).

Music scores for works published within a series, collection, or complete works edition

When citing a score from a collection, treat it as a chapter in a book.

Sample reference list entry:

Schumann, Robert. 1930. “Waldesgespraech (Loreley).” In Vocal Album: Fifty-five Songs for Low Voice, translated by Theodore Baker, 69-71. New York: G. Schirmer.

When citing a score from a series or complete works edition, treat it as a chapter from a series (See 14.123 for details).

Sample reference list entry:

Beethoven, Ludwig van. 2013. “Symphonie Nr. 6 F-Dur Opus 68 (Pastoral-Symphonie).” In Symphonien III, edited by Jens Dufner. Beethoven Werke, abt. 1, bd. 3, 107-206. Munich: G. Henle Verlag.

Sound recordings

Citation template:

Composer. Year. Title of Recording. Performer/Ensemble. Conductor. Label Label number, format.

Sample reference list entries:

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. 1971. Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute, La flûte enchantée). Vienna State Opera Chorus and Vienna Philharmonic. Sir Georg Soti. With Pilar Lorengar, Christina Deutekom, Stuart Burrows, Hermann Prey, Martti Talvela, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau. Recorded September/October 1969. London 414 568-2, 3 compact discs.

Rattle, Simon, conductor. 2009. Brahms: The Symphonies. Berliner Philharmoniker. Warner Classics-Parlophone 5099926725352. Naxos Music Library.

Video recordings

Video recordings use the place of publication and company instead of the name of the label and label number.

Sample reference list entry:

Strauss, Richard. 1981. Elektra. Wiener Philharmoniker conducted by Karl Böhm. Hamburg: Deutsche Grammophon, 2005. DVD.

Liner notes

Sample reference list entry:

Landon, H. C. Robbins. 1971. "Mozart and his Audiences." Liner notes for Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute, La flûte enchantée) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Sir Georg Soti. London 414 568-2, 3 compact discs.