Class lecture, speech, or academic talk

Put the lecture title in quotation marks after the speaker's name. If the lecture is untitled, place the course name in square brackets in place of the lecture title.

Reference list format:

Sample reference list entry:

Class notes on course website (e.g., Brightspace)

Include date they were created, posted or last revised; If no such date is available include date of access, but in that case, in your in-text citation, use "n.d.". Include the URL.

Sample reference list entry:

Dictionary or encyclopedia entry (print)

If you are citing a standard reference work like a well-known encyclopedia or dictionary, it is sufficient to cite the work only in the text of your paper, and omitting the citation from your reference list (14.232). If you are only citing an entry in text only, include the title of the dictionary or encyclopedia, the edition number (if other than the first), and the title of the entry. The title of the entry is preceded by "s.v.," meaning meaning sub verbo, or "under the word." The plural of s.v. is s.w.

Sample in-text citation:

If you are citing a specialized reference work, you can cite a dictionary or encyclopedia entry in-text and in your reference list as you would a section or chapter of an edited book.

Sample in-text citation:

Sample reference list entry:

Dictionary or encyclopedia entry (online)

Follow the principles listed above to decide if you will cite an entry only in the text of your work, or if it should also be cited in your reference list. Include the DOI (digital object identifier) for the entry. If a DOI is not available, use the URL instead. If you accessed the entry through a library database, name the database; do not use a library database URL.

Sample in-text citations:

Sample reference list entry:

Canadian government document (print)

The Chicago Manual recommends consulting the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation (9th ed.) for more specific information.

Sample reference list entry:

Canadian government document (online)

Include publication or last revision/modification date; If no such date is available include date of access, but in that case, in your in-text citation, use "n.d.". Include the URL.

Sample reference list entry:

Unpublished interview

Interviews are cited only in text and are not included in the reference list unless they are available for others to access (for example, in a library or archive, or posted online). Consider preserving a permanent record of any interviews you conduct to prevent possible challenges to your research (14.15).

Sample in-text citation:

Personal communication (conversation, email, text, or DM)

References to communications are usually built into the text of a paper and are not included in the reference list. Email addresses should be omitted. If you need to include it, ensure you obtain the permission of the owner.

Sample in-text citations:

Theses or dissertation‌s (print)

Titles of theses and dissertations appear in quotation marks, not in italics (14.215).

Sample reference list entry:

Theses or dissertation‌s (from a library database)

Titles of theses and dissertations appear in quotation marks, not in italics. Include the name of the database. If an identification number is provided, include it in brackets after the database name (14.215).

Sample reference list entry:

Theses or dissertation‌s (from the Internet)

Titles of theses and dissertations appear in quotation marks, not in italics. Include the URL at the end of the reference (14.215).

Sample reference list entry:

Streaming films

For streaming films accessed through the library, include the database name (e.g., Kanopy, Digital Theatre+). Do not include the database URL.

Sample reference list entry:

Films on DVD

Sample reference list entry: