Class lectures, speeches, or academic talks

Put the lecture title in quotation marks after the speaker's name. If the lecture is untitled, place the course name in square brackets in place of the lecture title.

Note format:

Bibliography entry format:

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Class notes posted on a course website (e.g., Brightspace)

Include date they were created, posted or last revised; If no such date is available include date of access. Include the URL.

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Print dictionary or encyclopedia entries

For commonly used or well-known reference books, do not give full publication information; only provide edition, if other than first. Cite the title of the entry proceeded by s.v., meaning sub verbo, or "under the word"; plural s.vv.). Do not include page numbers. See section 14.232 for details.

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Well-known dictionaries and encyclopedias do not need to be included in bibliographies (14.232). If you do wish to cite a reference work in your bibliography, like publication details as you would with any other book:

Online dictionary or encyclopedia entries

Include the DOI or "digital object identifier". If it is not available, use the URL instead. If you accessed it through a library database, name the database; do not use a library database URL. See section 14.233 for full details.

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Well-known online dictionaries and encyclopedias usually do not need to be included in bibliographies. If you do wish to cite a reference work in your bibliography, list publication details as you would with other web sources:

For streaming films accessed through the library, include the database name (i.e. Audio Cine Films, Kanopy, Digital Theatre+). Do not use a library database URL. See section 14.265 for more information.

Films accessed through a streaming service

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Films on DVD

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Print theses or dissertations

Titles of theses and dissertations appear in quotation marks, not in italics (14.215).

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Theses or dissertations from a library database

Titles of theses and dissertations appear in quotation marks, not in italics. Include the name of the database; do not include the database URL. (Because you have to log in to access material in a database, the URL will time-out and break for those who try to click it later.) If an identification number is provided, include it in brackets after the database name in place of a link (14.215).

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Online theses or dissertations

Titles of theses and dissertations appear in quotation marks, not in italics. Include the URL at the end of the citation (14.215).

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Government documents in print

The Chicago Manual recommends consulting the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation (9th edition) for more specific information.

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

Government documents accessed online

Include publication or last revision date; If no such date is available include date of access. Include the URL.

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry:

The University of British Columbia provides a legal citation guide based on Chicago style.

Unpublished interviews

Interviews are not included in the bibliography unless they are available for others to access (for example, in a library or archive, or posted online). Consider preserving a permanent record of any interviews you conduct to prevent possible challenges to the research.

Sample note:

Personal communications (conversation, email, text, direct message)

References to communications are usually built into the text, but can be provided in a note. Email addresses should be omitted. If you need to include it, ensure you obtain the permission of the owner.

Personal communications are not included in the bibliography. Consider preserving a permanent record of personal communications to prevent possible challenges to the research.

Sample in-text citation:

Sample note:

Published letters to the editor do not include headlines.

Sample note:

Comments are treated like a comment on a blog post, where you list the names as they are recorded with the comment, and other identifying information in parenthesis. If you can include a direct link to the comment, do so; otherwise, link to the article. Replies can refer to the cited comment.

Sample notes:

In the sciences especially, it has become customary to cite data from a database by listing, at a minimum, the name of the database, a descriptive phrase or record locator (such as a data marker or accession number) indicating the part of the database being cited or explaining the nature of the reference, an access date, and a URL. In bibliographies, list under the name of the database. See also 14.6–18.

If part of supplementary data for a journal article:

This includes video games, interactive books, encyclopedias and other content that is a stand-alone application, for use on an individual computer or device. Make sure to include the version number and information on the operating system required to run the app.

Sample note:

Sample bibliography entry: